Kristen P: The Beginning of an Adventure – 3 ladies trying to find a balance.

Sunrise 1/1/2013, Every.Single.Day.

Sunrise 1/1/2013, Every.Single.Day.

Well here we go! 3 ladies, 3 moms, 3 writers (well maybe 2, I will explain), 3 artist, 3 athletes, 3 career women for 365 days trying to make a difference in 2013. This year is going to be a monumental I can just feel it! I turn forty and I have big plans for my family and myself. When Kristen presented this idea, I jumped at the chance to join these two ladies in their quest to balance personal goals, family, careers, education and friendship. The challenge of making time for yourself and your own personal goals while juggling work and home life can be daunting even for an expert multitasker and workaholic like myself. I am thrilled for the chance to write about my pursuits and make a true commitment to them. I am queen of starting, stopping and trying again. As any athlete knows, long-term consistent work is the path to progress. With the help and support of Kristen and Claire this may be my recipe for success.

Unlike my esteemed literary teammates, my skills reside in the fine and graphic arts and not wielding word play. We share passions for running, health and creative pursuits but we each have young children and careers that are our priorities. This year we will try to find the balance between our goals and our families.

Well let’s get down to the details. As a design professor and freelance artist, I create artwork everyday but not for my own fine art portfolio. With this said, I plan on creating one piece of artwork a day for a year. One piece of artwork for myself. It can be any medium, painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, sculpture or graphic art. This art can be created in either analog or digital conventions. I love working on big projects so there maybe times I will document phases of a single piece. On those days, I will try to include at least a quick daily photo.

I also plan to make time each day to workout. My focus this year is going to be rebuilding all the muscle I have lost in the past 4 years. I have been running a fare amount but when work gets busy or the kids are sick, I stop. 2013 will be the year of consistency! Let’s see how it goes, let the adventure begin.

Every.Single.Day.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen P.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen P: The Beginning of an Adventure – 3 ladies trying to find a balance.

  1. Claire says:

    Wow, love that photo!

Leave a Reply

