Kristen R: Nine miles in

I woke up last night with green snot dripping from my nose. Yep. Green. Dripping like a faucet. My first thought was What if I get the flu and can’t move my body and, therefore, cannot hold up my end of this? Well, that was my second thought, actually. My first thought was about finding a tissue, but feeling too sleepy to get out of bed and deal with it. (I did get out of bed, by the way. That’s how I know the snot was green.)

Which numbers do you identify with the most? For me, it's 4, 5 and 10.

Which numbers do you identify with the most? For me, it’s 4, 5 and 10.

This got me thinking about my day-to-day. What obstacles will I have to manage this year? The flu? A sinus infection? An appendectomy (long story)? Something with my kids? Vacation?

At my job, when a major storm hits Virginia, I work non-stop. It can be brutal. No, it IS brutal. It’s exhausting. I have to figure out how to do this during the good (vacation), the bad (a sinus infection) and the ugly (green snot). And continue moving forward despite the obstacles.

This challenge, for me, is not about setting a goal to over-train or over-do. I’m changing some bad — somewhat lazy — habits. People are instructed to exercise on a daily basis all the time. Walk. Run. Bike. Swim. Park in the way-back of the parking lot. Take the stairs. Garden. Just move. I’m taking the advice. Seeing what happens. Seeing if doing a daily run means more energy, fewer colds, better fitting clothes. An end to green snot.

I’m actually writing this at the end of day three: Jan. 3. I’ve logged nine miles and have run three miles a day. I’ve eaten pretty well and done a few toning things to keep my other muscles strong and happy. So far, I’ve been quite treadmill reliant. I am fortunate to have a treadmill in my basement. I run at night, after my kids go to bed, so I get some quality time with them after work. I wouldn’t be comfortable running at night outside by myself. And a morning run would mean getting up at 4:30 a.m. — and it’s still dark then. And early. So I tread. I would prefer to be outside, but …

Nine miles of hill intervals. 40 minute segments (walking at 4mph for the 10 percent incline every third minute). It’s a treadmill program I do at the beginning of any training. I do it for the first two weeks, then move to longer runs on the treadmill and the road, but I continue to do the hill intervals weekly. On the weekends, I do long runs in my neighborhood.

It will be cold Saturday morning. But I’ll manage. That’s the point: To keep moving forward despite the little things that get in the way.

Kristen R.

This is where you really are running Khubs!

This is where you really are running Khubs!

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kristen R: Nine miles in

  1. khpixler says:

    Excellent job on the 9 miles with green snot!

  2. khpixler says:

    Check out your new visualization! A quick Illustration but I think it will do the trick;).

  3. Kristen R. says:

    Yes, that’s exactly what I’m visualizing! Love it. I’m going to tape your illustration to my treadmill. Will post a photo with my next entry.

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: Back on the sunny side | Making It Daily

  5. Pingback: Kristen R: The good (because I’ve already shared bad and ugly) | Making It Daily

  6. Pingback: Kristen R: December Reflections No. 7 – 10 Days | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

