1/6/13 – An Inventory of a Serial Shopper

I know what you are thinking, “A Serial Shopper, aren’t we supposed to be talking about art and your process?” Well here is the thing, I love art supplies and I love using those art supplies.  I am constantly purchasing new supplies for my next project and I usually like to save money and purchase the items in bulk online.  It will get used right?

I decided to inventory my art room to see what I have for my year to come. Fear not I am well stocked! Let’s look at a list of a few things I found just lying around.

Some of the Inventory on the list

Some of the Inventory on the list

  • 6 -12 by 18 Linoleum Plates
  • 30- Fuji Instant Film for Emulsion transfers
  • 5 -18 by 24 canvas boards
  • 4- 12 by 18 Book Cover Backing
  • 12 – 12 by 18 Wood Plates
  • 3 – Etching Plates of various sizes
  • Oil based Printing Ink in various colors
  • Water based Printing Ink in various colors
  • Oil and Acrylic Paint
  • Pencils
  • Pens
  • Watercolors
  • Pastels and Charcoal
  • Paper, Paper and more Paper
  •  Canvas Roll
  • Pre-made Canvases
  • Newsprint
  •  Matte board
  • An 18 by 24 Linocut complete with only two final prints in the series
  • A 12 by 18 Collagraph with only 3 final prints in the series

There is more but I believe I made my point.  Perhaps I have been hoarding all this material for this project or I am planning on starting an art school.  Which ever it is, I am ready to go.

With this in mind I choose to finish up some of my projects from last year that have been put up on the shelf.  Many of these projects were well on their way but had to be put aside last semester. There was simply no time with finishing up my degree, teaching, freelancing and taking care of the house and family.

Sketch for Print #1

Sketch for Print #1

I chose this very odd little sketch, as my first print of 2013. This image has been sitting in my drawing pad and itching at me since last spring.  Conceptually I am not sure what is going on here.  I think I was tired and the thought of sleeping anywhere was appealing to me.  That does look similar to my husband but no worries he is a lovely human being. I am not sure what is in the bag but mysterious bags with unknown contents have always creeped me out. For you art historians, I was looking at Kathe Kollwitz too much; I am not sure that is possible because she is amazing.

Sketch Transfered to Plate

Sketch Transfered to Plate

I have begun carving this plate and I am hoping that it will get printed in the next week or two.  I will be photographing or sketching a lot for my daily posts until this print is complete.  The serial art supply shopper is on the job.  Any guesses how long it will take me to go through my current inventory?  Time will tell, as I am making it daily!

Filling in some details before I start to carve.

Filling in some details before I start to carve.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1/6/13 – An Inventory of a Serial Shopper

  1. wwwmama says:

    All the more reason to go shopping again! At least yor’re buying stuff you can use for work. Not so much for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

