Kristen R: Purple Haze

Just go

Just go.

The fog is lifting but I definitely feel like I’ve been in a drug-induced haze since my last post. That green snot I mentioned (and, I take a solemn oath that from this day forth, I will not blog about my mucous) did not turn into a sinus infection. I think I took so many day-time and night-time concoctions of sinus-y stuff that I dried it up into oblivion.

It’s left me in that purple, foggy haze of low energy, a short temper and general blah. The effects of this cold were amplified by the fact that my toddler decided to prey upon me during my time of weakness, waking my husband and I at 2:30 a.m. Friday (and she never went back to sleep), 4:30 a.m. Saturday, then finally this morning, 5:45 a.m. (I’m typing this Sunday night).

Despite this, I’ve run. It’s been slow and low as far as mileage, but I must confess that the most energy I’ve had over the last three days has been immediately following these short little runs.

Here’s my mileage. It’s nothing to brag about, but I logged the miles fighting off whatever ick has been attacking me nonetheless.

My year-to-date mileage. Let's see how many miles I can log this year!

My year-to-date mileage. Let’s see how many miles I can log this year!

Friday (1/4): 1 mile. Yep, that’s it.
Saturday (1/5): 1.5 miles
Sunday (1/6): 2.25

It felt like a test. Before this challenge, I would have cacooned into the couch until this passed, then taken a few more days off from running just to make sure it was really gone. But I can’t do that. And, frankly, I don’t need to. I haven’t been 100 percent, but I’ve been well enough to log a few short runs. The shortest, in fact, that I’m allowing myself. Although these short runs feel a little like cheating, I’m sticking to the parameters I’ve set for myself. I set them knowing something like this might happen. Would happen.

And now it’s done. I made it through. Let’s see what Monday brings.

Don't ask:)

KHP – Don’t ask:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: Purple Haze

  1. wwwmama says:

    It’s not cheating. That’s why you have the parameters. I was so good about my 3x a week workouts until a few weeks ago, when it all went to hell. I’m trying to wind my way back, but having those parameters of what “counts” helps us keep moving, even if it’s not our idea of the perfect workout. Yay you!

  2. khpixler says:

    I am so proud of you for doing it and don’t think it is cheating at all. It is surviving and pushing on.

Leave a Reply

