Kristen R: One Shade of Gray

Old man winter finally arrived and, man, was he in a bad mood. He made it rain for days and days and days, making it gray and bleak and cold. Finally, the rain turned to snow and we were granted our first official snow day here in Central Virginia.

Early yesterday morning, my 6-year-old flew out of bed before the sun was up to see if her newly-learned snow-day rituals had worked. She had come home from school the day before with a checklist: Flush one ice cube down the toilet (Check!); place a paper-cut snowflake under her pillow (Check!); wear pajamas inside-out (Check!).

She burst into my bathroom where I was perched over my sink, staring into the mirror applying mascara (I had to go to work).

Her: Did it work?
Me: What?
Her: The snow! The ice cube! Did it work??!
Me: Did you look outside?
She runs to the window: Snow! Do I have school?
Me: You did it! You made a snow day!

She beamed and ran to tell her dad the good news. It’s exciting stuff, that first snow day — and any that follow. Where we live, a snow day is a rare thing.

Meanwhile, I must confess, I wasn’t so much perched over the sink as I was hunched. I had woken up with awful back pain. Sharp lower back pain. I felt the same tweak in my back just after Christmas and it had gone away, but it’s back. I ended up leaving work and going to the doctor to make sure it wasn’t anything bad — and to try and get a muscle relaxer or something, anything to help.

So far, it’s nothing to be alarmed about. I was prescribed an anti-inflammatory and told to come back if it doesn’t go away in a week. Sigh…

I’m sitting here, typing on my iPad with the heating pad on my back hoping this will be gone as quickly as it came. While I don’t have my mileage-to-date to post (it’s on the computer upstairs and I just don’t want to sit in front of it right now because that chair hurts my back [whine, whine, whine]), I have been running. And for better or worse, I ran yesterday. I’m nervious if this continues what it will mean, but the doctor said that if it wasn’t too painful I could run, preferrably on a treadmill opposed to pounding the pavement.

Done and done. But I am keeping it really low and really slow for now. If the sharp pain continues, I’m not sure what that will mean for this project. But for now, here’s what I’ve done the last three days.

Wednesday: 3 miles; hill intervals
Thursday: 1 mile (was supposed to be a rest day for a longer run Friday, but my back had other plans)
Friday: 1 mile, super slow and a little gimpy

So there you have it. Nothing profound or inspiring today, and for that I apologize. Instead, I’m just going to focus on keeping my back still and cross my fingers that I’ll feel more like myself tomorrow when this post will find it’s way into the world.

KHP - Like I said, it has been glacial but I made great progress today.  I have a deadline of the 26th, which is the next print group meeting.  NEW PRINT, I am really motivated.

KHP – Like I said, it has been glacial but I made great progress today. I have a deadline of the 26th, which is the next print group meeting. NEW PRINT, I am really motivated.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kristen R: One Shade of Gray

  1. wwwmama says:

    Poor baby. Take care of yourself. Love the snow day ritual!

  2. khpixler says:

    Love the snow day ritual too. I was not particularly inspired in my post yesterday either. You should pick up the book on chi running. It maybe the ticket for success this year. It seems like the most scientifically sound running form I have heard. I was actually surprised by that. I thought it was going to be more a psychological or spiritual approach. It was very technical. So sad that your back is hurting again:(

  3. Jan says:

    Your daughter sounds soo cute.So sorry about your back. Get better quick!

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: The good (because I’ve already shared bad and ugly) | Making It Daily

  5. Pingback: Kristen R: The Running Blues are a Pain in the … Back | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

