Kristen R: Don’t Call It a Comeback

Seriously, don’t. It’s not a comeback, especially when I can count the mileage I’ve logged since my last post on one hand.

worryingBut it’s something. For me, at least, it’s something.

I’ve never really had aches and pains. I mean, running has given me a bum hip twice — from overuse — and I dealt with it, but back pain is something I do not know. I don’t experience it at all. I’m a big fan of the motto “No wimps or whiners,” so admitting to and dealing with low back pain is new to me. And it sucks.

These last few days, honestly, had me bothered. Me, the mom, wife, career-woman, trying-to-be-a-runner; and me, the now 365-running challenge blogger, plus mom, wife, career-woman, trying-to-be-a-runner. But I’m happy to say it’s better — still there slightly, but it’s getting better every day. So I feel OK pledging to do what I had hoped to do in my last post: Share my race schedule, so far, for the year.

My 2013 race calendar to date:

  • April 7: Cherry Blossom 10-miler in Washington, D.C. (A favorite, by far; great race, well organized and you couldn’t ask for a better location)
  • April 27: Park-to-Park Waynesboro Half Marathon (Described as gentle rolling hills. Translation: running up and down a bunch of mountains in Virginia. At least I’ll be there with my friend Suzie, who not only talks to me throughout a run, but keeps me laughing; and former Colonial200 relay teammate Alex, who is also hilarious. Should be a good time.)
  • May 4: Crossover 15K (Great race, great cause; I hope not to have a sinus infection while running this year.)
  • July 4: Brandermill 7.4k (This race is just too local to pass up, despite the heat and humidity.)
  • September 20-21: Colonial200 Relay (Because I didn’t learn my lesson the first time around. It’s an all-nighter, crazy race between Crozet, Va., and Williamsburg. My God, this will be awesome race report.)
  • November 16: American Family Fitness Half Marathon (Richmond’s best half; KHP – are ya with me, again? I promise not to walk as much this time! And, I need to come to your neck of the woods for a half as well, so just give me a date and I’ll add it to the list.)

So there we have it. I will add more races to this list, I’m sure. And I hope to add to it with my blogging partners (NYC, ladies. Dates, we need dates!).  Next Monday, Jan. 28, will be the start of my training program for the April races.

The other thing I need to tackle is my diet: No more eating out of convenience. I might allow a few cheats (wine and dark chocolate, anyone?), but I need to get serious about what’s going in. As of now, it’s not good. Well, by the end of the day, it’s not good.

2013 mileage to date

2013 Mileage to date

Back pain aside, I intended to up the mileage this week. Basically, I wanted to spend the first part of the month just getting my body used to daily runs. What I hope to do in my training is continue a smattering of 1-mile days a couple of times a week as rest days — so I’ll use the mile as a warm up for cross training in the form of yoga, weight lifting or whatever.

There’s some method to my madness. I just need my body to cooperate.

KHP - Perfect Imperfections of nature.  My work here is done:)

KHP – Perfect Imperfections of nature. My work here is done:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: Don’t Call It a Comeback

  1. khpixler says:

    I am in for the Richmond Half. I will not try to find something around here that will work in your current calendar. I think the freedom run might work but we could always do a Spartan team race. That could be hilarious. I definitely think we need to keep a little dark chocolate and wine in the diet. A little naughty to go with all this nice is just good balance.

  2. khpixler says:

    I will try to find a race up here. I seriously need to hire a scribe for my tablet

  3. wwwmama says:

    Wow, that schedule is impressive. I want to hear more specifics about your diet. I’m struggling with good eating these days and could use some inspiration.

Leave a Reply

