Kristen R: The good (because I’ve already shared bad and ugly)

Over the course of any given week, I have at least 87 different topics I want to write about. I email myself these ideas when they strike: while cooking dinner; walking to my car; before I pull out of the driveway to go anywhere; watching TV; when I’m waiting for my two-year-old to go potty; and yes, during and post-run.

The emails are short and cryptically written, so if any decent conspiracy theorist cyber-hijacked one of them, that individual would assume it was spy talk for some bold plot to do something, um, bold.

But since life always gets in the way of proper planning, these ideas don’t always make it out into the blogosphere. Instead, I’ve let back pain, foggy mornings and green snot be the subjects of a few posts. So, before they are gone and forgotten, I wanted to share a few good things:

  1. Two weeks ago, we hosted a charity pinball tournament. My husband has mastered the rare art of collecting and restoring pinball machines (remember those?). He decided to put the machines to good use by inviting a bunch of friends over to play tournament style. Everybody put in some cash. Trash was talked. Rivalries were formed. Winners emerged. Prizes were awarded. All the money — $500 — went to our local food bank, which runs The Backpack Program. They distribute weekend bags of non-perishable food to kids who don’t have meals on the weekends (they get free lunches at school during the week). Our little basement tourney earned enough money to sponsor one child for a year, plus extra, and lots of new friendships were made. He was humble about it, but that man of mine did good. No surprise to anyone who knows him, but it doesn’t hurt to see it in writing every now and then. Nicely done, husband. You made me proud.
  2. Shoe searching has commenced: the elusive running shoe search. However, the good people of Naturalrunningstore.com have made it a little easier. I tweeted them a question about helping me find a new, minimalist shoe and you know what they did? They tweeted back a few questions, then gave me an answer via YouTube. Because they are awesome. Check it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P8iOKOOFvB4. Stay tuned to find out which ones I choose. I cannot wait for a test drive.
  3. My 6-year-old has proven herself to be quite the bookworm, juggling two chapter books at once and proving that the apple does not fall far from the tree (I am currently reading three books). However, while I make very little progress in any one of mine, she makes fast work of her ever-growing pile of books, pouring herself into book after book after book. I am in awe.
  4. My 2-year-old has mastered the art of zipping up her own coat and exercises this independence every morning as I try to bundle her up before we leave for pre-school. She is becoming self-sufficient too quickly — much more quickly than her big sister — but I love her determination to do it all for herself. She demands and commands, making no apologies. She is bold.
  5. I have pushed past my snot and back pain and run for 24 days straight. Little runs, light runs, but daily runs none the less. Check out my progress and stay tuned for the April race training that starts next week. Can I get some jazz hands?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 Mileage to date.

2013 Mileage to date.

KHP - This is roots from an old tree.  Isn't it amazing! Do you see what I see.  I cannot see anything else but a roaring lion.

KHP – This is roots from an old tree. Isn’t it amazing! Do you see what I see. I cannot see anything else but a roaring lion.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kristen R: The good (because I’ve already shared bad and ugly)

  1. Your husband says:

    Thanks.

  2. khpixler says:

    I just keep hearing the Pinball Wizard in my head. Perhaps not the theme song your man was looking for but it is there in my messed up head. He is amazing and we think the world of you both.

  3. khpixler says:

    I am loving seeing the bottom number grow!

  4. khpixler says:

    Okay, so I have the old Newtons not nearly as cute but I love them. I don’t love them for trails due to the lug in the front. I am between the Altra and Merrells for you. Altras as they have the red accent and the Merrells because they are good trail shoes. HMMM. What is the verdict????How many guesses. Altras, that is my final guess.
    By the way Natural Running Store Rocks!! How awesome that he did the video for you.

  5. wwwmama says:

    Newman and I considered traveling south for the pinball tournament. Did I ever tell you that? It was such an awesome idea to have it. Maybe next year…because I know it will be a recurring event, right? You inspire me with all that you have going on. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

