Kristen R: February Challenge Fun

The thing about saying you’re going to do something every day is that you are absolutely accountable. At least, you are if you’re me and you say it out loud. To actual people. Especially the kind that will hold you accountable. In my case, that’s my husband and my blogging partners.

With this in mind, I would like to take this moment to declare a new daily commitment: The Fab Ab February challenge. It’s all mapped out for you below. You just need to commit to making it happen daily. And, to make it easier, there are three whole rest days.

So, who is in?
[This is where you comment below that you will do this so all the world – or at least the tiny smattering of readers who are following – can read/see your commitment to making it daily. Come on! Do. It.]

Fab ab february

If you’ve been following along, you know that I have committed to run every day this year. But I also want to make sure I round things out by cross-training and eating better, which I why I plan on doing this daily ab workout. I pinned it to one of my Pinterest boards last January and, frankly, I didn’t remember it was there until a few months after February had come and gone. Isn’t that so often the way of the resolution?

But now it’s a whole new year and I’ve remembered this one.

And speaking of Pinterest, I also promised Claire that I would share a little foodie goodness. I still struggle with making better food choices daily — and I need to conquer this to make some real strides in my fitness goals.

That said, here are a few good recipes that I’ve found via Pinterest . They are good, easy eats and quite healthful if combined with the right sides. After making each a handful of times, they have become fast easy meals that I can make most week nights, which is key for my busy family with two working parents.

  • Asian Turkey meatballs with lime dipping sauce by skinnytaste; my kids gobble them up and they are picky, picky eaters.
  • Baked chicken spring rolls by Just a Taste. I’m addicted to these right now. You can save a few calories by doing them as lettuce wraps instead of using the spring roll wrappers.
  • Maple Bacon Brussel Sprouts by Serious Eats. My husband can’t seem to eat enough of these and neither can I. They are so good.
  • Chicken & Mushrooms in garlic wine sauce by skinnytaste. Fast, easy and wine sauce. Hello? Wine sauce? What’s not to love?
  • Tuna Patties by Simply Recipes. I mix tuna and crabmeat and make a spicy little sauce to top it off with it.

The running is going well this week. I had a great, albeit, indoor run Saturday. It was cold and snowy, so I opted for the treadmill. I knew I would have a fun, slow run outside, but I really wanted to knock out a longer run and push it a bit, and that’s what I did. I broke my 5-mile run into .5 mile segments, alternating between a less-than-a-9-minute mile and 9:30-mile. Breaking it up into these .5-mile segments is a great treadmill trick because you’re focused on each .5-mile, not how much distance is left or how much time has passed.

What’s your best treadmill training trick?

2013 mileage to date. It's growing...

2013 mileage to date. It’s growing…

Have a good week!
Gotta run,
Kristen R.

 

KHP - Composition Study

KHP – Composition Study

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Kristen R: February Challenge Fun

  1. wwwmama says:

    Um, are you trying to kill me? You know I can’t not accept a challenge! I may have to make those rest days more about when my life won’t allow me to do the workouts, but I will accept the challenge. I’ve already printed the calendar to post somewhere prominent at home. It’s all part of my new resolution to be more positive for February!

  2. khpixler says:

    I am not scared, bring it;) I will pin some recipes too. I get Fitness magazine just for the recipes in the back. They are usually quick with veggie variety (which I think is key to nutrition), so yummy my picky weird eaters enjoy them and inexpensive. I need my kids to stop making brownies and cookies for tea parties.

    • Kristen R. says:

      Glad you will be up for the challenge, too, and, yes, please share more fast, easy eats. They make weekday afternoons so much more manageable. Hope your hammy’s doing better today!

      • khpixler says:

        Will do. My quad is actually much better today. I iced for four hours straight and took IB. I don’t think I will be running and I doubt I will be playing soccer this Sunday but I don’t think it will be a season killer like it felt last night. I just don’t know what I did that made my whole quad lock up for hours and then all the sudden be manageable. I know I am old:-)

      • Kristen R. says:

        Glad it’s better!

  3. Sarah says:

    I like this challenge – I’m in! I always try to find ways to break up treadmill workouts too, usually by changing the speed. Changing it up is a must for me on the treadmill!

    • Kristen R. says:

      Yeah, Sarah! It looks like we both have half marathons the same week in April (mine is in Waynesboro, VA). I’m going to check out the training plan you posted. Looks like a good one! And now, we will be running them with super-awesome abs and bragging rights. 🙂 Glad you’re on board!

  4. khpixler says:

    I am making those spring rolls they look amazing. Can anyone stop eating roasted brussel sprouts. I am not sure if the maple bacon part should be on the diet – lol but YUM.

  5. Amba Nair says:

    I’m not sure of how much of this I can actually do. I’m just starting out on my fitness journey and happened to chance upon this post in my quest for some fitness buddies to keep me on track. I wonder f this will be taking on too much for somebody who is just starting out! But I really want to try!

    • Kristen R. says:

      Amba, that’s great you want to try! Please let us know how it’s going. (I guess I should say I’m no trainer and starting anything new should probably be discussed with a doctor. I’m just doing what feels right for me.) I’m excited to have some other motivated people to tackle this with and am glad you’re on board!

  6. Pingback: Kristen R: One down, 11 to go | Making It Daily

  7. Pingback: Kristen R: Sorry, pizza. It’s not you, it’s me. | Making It Daily

  8. Pingback: Kristen R: 48 Days and 111 miles | Making It Daily

  9. Pingback: Kristen R: New month, new goals; still on a running streak | Making It Daily

  10. Pingback: Claire: Progress | Making It Daily

  11. Pingback: Kristen R: April Commitments | Making It Daily

  12. Pingback: Fab Ab April – 30-Day Core Challenge | Mama on the Run

Leave a Reply

