Kristen R: Sorry, pizza. It’s not you, it’s me.

We’ve had some good times together, pizza. Like that time you came home with me and you were naked. You let me top you off with a few of my favorite things: cheese, jalepenos and pepperoni. Or, that other time when I drizzled you in barbecue sauce and laid smoking hot, grilled chicken all over your crispy round crust. And remember when that stranger delivered you right to my door? You were all hot and steamy, ready for me to devour you — you and all your savory goodness.

The thing is, old friend, we can’t go on like this. You know it. And I know it. You’re all wrong for me. You’re a bad boy and I’m really trying to be good.

What’s more, I know better. I know that turning to you on a Friday or Saturday night just makes all those right choices from earlier in the week go wrong. So very wrong.

And so that’s why I’m sorry, pizza. It’s not you, it’s me. We’re breaking up.

And, with that, I cannot wait until March to throw down some random healthy food challenge. Instead, right here, right now I commit to more than the Fab Ab February challenge. I commit to a February without pizza! Who’s with me?

[Insert chirping cricket sound.]

I pledge, on this third day of February, to turn to healthy, quick eats, such as a turkey sandwich, a salad, fruit, Greek yogurt and granola or just a simple hard-boiled egg, when I’m pressed for time in the evenings. Those are the weak moments when I would typically turn to the fast fix of pizza for a weeknight quickie supper or weekend splurge.

It’s a small step, but one that’s easy to take. Next month, I’ll add in one more. Plus, I plan to start tracking my calories again because I really do make better choices when I’m paying attention to what I’m eating.

January total. Not too shabby!

January total. Not too shabby!

As for the running, January came up just a hair under 70 miles. Not bad. And, I’ve kicked off February with some good, faster runs and feel like my lower mileage in January got my body used to making this a daily thing.

“Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date.
2013 mileage to date.

KHP - I took my stupid humor off to replace with what I have been really working on.  These are sketches for print ideas.

KHP – I took my stupid humor off to replace with what I have been really working on. These are sketches for print ideas.

KHP - contour line study of down tree

KHP – contour line study of down tree

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kristen R: Sorry, pizza. It’s not you, it’s me.

  1. khpixler says:

    Now you’re killin’ me smalls! Damn you woman but I’m in!

    • Kristen R. says:

      Hahaha! You may not have the same pizza issues/addiction that I do! Plus, my husband loves it — and can it all the time b/c he has the same metabolism as my 6-year-old. I need to stop eating what he does. And this is my start. 🙂

  2. Amba says:

    LOL! That was hilarious:) I have one cheat meal on Saturday. I don’t think I’m strong enough to NOT eat junk food at least once a week 🙂 More power to you!

  3. khpixler says:

    I am calling April’s challenge. Haha evil laugh.

  4. khpixler says:

    Something special for you today:)

  5. Pingback: Kristen R: Back on the grid | Making It Daily

  6. Pingback: Kristen R: New month, new goals; still on a running streak | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

