Kristen R: The longest distance between two places

“Time is the longest distance between two places.”
― Tennessee Williams, The Glass Menagerie

The past few days since I last wrote have been busy ones. My husband’s birthday was Saturday and the day before was spent running around like crazy making sure I had everything we needed to celebrate in style.

you should do themWe did celebrate – breakfast, lunch and dinner. And in between there was taekwondo for my 6-year-old. Then, we thought she was coming down with strep, so there was a doctor visit slipped in between the birthday breakfast and the post-lunch cake with the kids.

It all got done. The Friday prep. The Saturday festivities – with the kids and the grownups’ night out. And it all got done well. What surprised me was that I got my daily runs in. Granted they were short, but I found the time — I found it when I typically would find an excuse not to find the time.

Late Saturday afternoon, after showering the girls with kisses and leaving them with a sitter for the grown up portion of the birthday fun, my husband and I drove to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts to see the Chihuly exhibit on its last night in Richmond.

That was stop one. Dinner somewhere in Richmond’s Fan District would be stop two. A rare evening out for us both.

I commented that despite all my frantic running around both Friday and Saturday, I did my runs. I noted that without the blog and my Making It Daily commitment, I would have never tried to squeeze in fitness. I would have been too busy. I went on to say that I now make time for this because it’s a goal. It’s an important goal — one that I’m making stick.

My husband made the obvious distinction — as is his way — by saying, “You’ve always had the time, you just didn’t use it.” And that’s all I needed to hear.

He is absolutely right, isn’t he? We all have the time. It’s how we use it that counts. Are you too busy? I certainly was. Overextended? Yes, between work and my kids I feel like I don’t always have time for myself, either. Too tired? Yep, me too. I was exhausted Sunday. Tired and unmotivated. But getting outside and going on a short run made a big difference. I mean, a little part of me hates admitting it, but Nike got it right, didn’t they? Just do it.

I love the serendipity of my friend and blogging partner’s post yesterday, which ended with pretty much the same message: “There is no one holding you back but yourself.”

2013 Mileage to date. Who's ready to break 100? Me.

2013 Mileage to date. Who’s ready to break 100? Me.

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.”
― Eric Roth, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button screenplay

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

KHP - I almost killed myself getting this photo before the sun went down and trampled through a farmers field under the cover of fog in my dress pants and Arturochiangs.  The shoes may never be the same:)

KHP – I almost killed myself getting this photo before the sun went down and trampled through a farmers field under the cover of fog in my dress pants and Arturochiangs. The shoes may never be the same:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: The longest distance between two places

  1. wwwmama says:

    Great job getting it all in! Glad you and T got to go out to celebrate together!

  2. Amba says:

    You are so right! I really need to ‘woman up’ and crush all those whiny excuses I can hear in my head when it’s time to exercise. 🙂 On another note, sounds like you guys had a blast on your husband’s birthday 🙂

    • Kristen R. says:

      You stepped up to the fab ab challenge! And, I should confess, I totally whined when it came to running Sunday. I did it, but I whined a little bit before I went out and did it. Felt great after, though. That’s what we must remember!

  3. Kristen says:

    You are amazing and one of the most disciplined people I know. T always has clear sight on things. I am happy you got out and had some adult time together. Ah, the precious moments:)

Leave a Reply

