Kristen R: A Friday Quickie

My Valentine's Day card from The Bean.

My Valentine’s Day card from The Bean.

I had every intention of running Thursday morning so that when I came home from work on Valentine’s Day, we could cook and drink wine and look through the notes and candy my girls’ received at school from their classmates. I didn’t want any runs or ab challenge workouts hanging over my head.

But sleep won out over my alarm when 4:30 rolled in, and so when I got home yesterday afternoon, I had to get a quick run out of the way — as well as this blog post. And here you have it: A Friday quickie.

The highlights:

  • I ran a quick mile.
  • I did the Feb. 14 Fab Ab workout. (Let’s hear it for 12 pushups!)
  • My husband cooked a gourmet meal for his three ladies on Valentine’s Day.
  • And my 6-year-old gave me a Valentine’s Day card that rocked my world.
VDay note

Lots of good stuff in this sweet note — and it’s signed “Ava Apple Pie,” her first-grade food nickname.

And that’s as good as it gets on a Thursday evening in my house. Unless, of course, we’re on vacation.

On the running front, had I realized I was this close to the 100-mile mark, I would have pushed it a hair more. But, the trade off makes it OK. Tomorrow, 100-mile mark, I will crush you!

Mileage to date. 100 miles is so close!

Mileage to date. 100 miles is so close!

KHP - she really likes roses:)

KHP – she really likes roses:)

KHP  - Roses for my mother-in-law, Rose.  These flowers were willing subjects on this rainy afternoon.

KHP – Roses for my mother-in-law, Rose. These flowers were willing subjects on this rainy afternoon.

 

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Kristen R: A Friday Quickie

  1. wwwmama says:

    Yay! Love the valentine so much. It’s a weird thing though; my girl told me I was the best mom in the world. Huh. We’re going to have to arm-wrestle for that one.

  2. Kristen says:

    I think your heart is bigger than the moon too! Go Bean!!! I hit 100 with you! It is going to be hard to keep up as your longer days increase but I am trying to keep up:) I am alternating days with yoga as I know my legs get burnt out easier than yours. I have a feeling the halfway point I may need to give up but I am going to try to keep up for as long as possible.
    I am not in the battle for the best mom in the world. I got big hugs and kisses and a lot of love but the did not qualify as the best mom:( One day I will get in on the arm wrestle match.

    • Kristen R. says:

      I figured you blew past 100 weeks ago! You were much better trained than me during our half. This week I was going to follow a half training plan, but I didn’t. Will post it next time and try to be better about following it. I’ll definitely follow its long runs, though.

      And you’re definitely in the running for best mom. It’s a three-way split.

      • Kristen says:

        :)) I will have to show the girls Bean’s valentine. There is nothing like a little pressure to get results;)
        I have only had one week where Matt was here and the girls were sick. My weekly distance has ranged from 12 miles to 25. I am all over the map but if I look at my workouts in hours it is about the same each week. I just compensate with Yoga and soccer. I think soccer is getting in the way of my long runs. The season is short so that will change soon. I want to be able to keep up with your mileage etc. so we can have a really great race together in November. I don’t want to get left in the dust:) I want to run together like we did this year but this time wicked fast.

      • Kristen R. says:

        Yes to wicked fast!

      • Kristen says:

        were not sick, silly

  3. Amba says:

    I really love this blog. You guys keep making all your goals so achievable with the help of each other! It must be wonderful to have such a solid support system in the form of friends and co-bloggers! Your daughter is beautiful by the way. Such a cute card 🙂

    • Kristen R. says:

      Thanks, Amba. I love that you’re a part of our dialog! You’re in this with us now. 🙂 How’s the ab challenge going?

      • Amba says:

        Thanks Kristen! I haven’t been eating as healthy as I like due to a few social hiccups this week. But I’ve learnt to compensate for it on other days 🙂 I keep going! I should be putting up a quick health update on my blog sometime this weekend 🙂 Thanks for asking!

      • Kristen R. says:

        Good! I’ll check it out. The food thing is my biggest downfall. Well, the wine thing, too. 🙂

    • Kristen says:

      The food/wine is my killer too. We need our next month’s challenge so we can clean it up:) Amba, I am so glad to have you along for the ride. We all need a support and we are so lucky to have this to share.

Leave a Reply

