KHP – Back to the Drawing Board

KHP - Blind Contour Juniper tree

KHP – Blind Contour Juniper tree

This is my Sunday quickie, to steal KR’s term.

This week has been a busy one here in Central PA.  We have had meetings, running, teaching, soccer, sickness, more sickness, Valentine’s Day, my husband out of town and appointments.  I have taken pictures, sketched and worked out everyday. I guess this is just a regular week for me and has been for years.  I should not be surprised how much I have been able to accomplish, as it just seems to snowball each year.  Sometimes I look around and wish I could just focus on one task and one goal rather than the crazy spread in front of me.  One day, it will seem less complicated but for now I keep plugging along.

KHP - The plate that is haunting me.  To carve or not to carve.

KHP – The plate that is haunting me. To carve or not to carve.

I think this week I have hit a bit of a slump.  My girls have been very ill for the past two weeks and I have had a difficult time getting the mileage in I had planned.  I am running or doing yoga everyday.  I am enjoying the increase in difficulty in our Fab Ab workout but a level of intensity seems to have dissipated.

I planned to start a new plate this week but in my rush to begin I was not happy with the transfer of the sketch.  So I went back to the drawing board, literally.  I have sketched everyday trying to gather more research for a final drawing.  I have photographed trees, textures and other organic objects.   My goal is to slow down a touch to gather some inspiration back and focus on another plate.

KHP - Loose sketch of juniper tree.  I was trying to look at the movement.

KHP – Loose sketch of juniper tree. I was trying to look at the movement.

I have been tempted just to start carving the original sketch.  The carving takes on a separate life from the drawing but I have never carved a sketch that I am this unhappy with the composition.  I have not erased the original off the plate and it seems to be following me around the house haunting me, spurring me to action.  I am not sure if all of my sketching is actually research or if it is a form of procrastination.

I just remember talking with a trainer and he explained his philosophy on working out.  To him it was not possible to have great workouts everyday or high motivation at any single moment but it was possible to take yourself to the gym and attempt your workout.  Some days you will have great workouts and others will not be so pretty, they may even be short. The most important part of any training program was simply the act of doing.  So this week I do and I will find a path to follow. I will be lifting my creative weights everyday but this week I have not quite reached the goals I have set for myself.  Patience is an attribute I continue to work on.  So back to the drawing board I go.

KHP - I am really happy with the way this drawing is developing.  I am not sure what medium this will end up in but I am really loving the line quality.  I guess I did find something from my work this week.

KHP – I am really happy with the way this drawing is developing. I am not sure what medium this will end up in but I am really loving the line quality. I guess I did find something from my work this week.

 

 

 

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Printmaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Back to the Drawing Board

  1. Kristen R. says:

    Well, I can definitely relate. I’ve had days when I do the shortest run possible b/c I’m just not motivated to do any more — but it is all about the doing. And you are doing — doing when the world around you sounds quite hectic. I attribute my slump to the time of year. We are on that slow ride to the end of winter when you’re just praying the signs of spring will starting springing. Think how much your mood will lift when the days are longer and the leaves are back on the trees.

  2. wwwmama says:

    Love the tree, and love the creative weight-lifting!

Leave a Reply

