Kristen R: 48 Days and 111 miles

2013 mileage: Broke the 100-mile mark!

2013 mileage: Broke the 100-mile mark!

I’m writing this on day 48 and am happy to say I’ve passed the 100-mile mark. I’ve pushed myself during my last three runs and I really felt that tonight during the Sunday night treadmill 5k I just finished. I still kept the pace up, but, man, it felt like a long 3 miles — despite the mindless TV I watched to distract myself.

I have a few treadmill workouts I plan to try out soon to break up the monotony — Yasso 800s, a treadmill hill workout, leapfrogs and pyramids. I’ll get into each one when I tackle them. But, I’m also curious if you have any tried and true treadmill training techniques?

I spend so much time writing about the runs I’ve put in, I’m going to try logging the workouts I hope to complete this week. Let’s see if I can stick with it:

Monday: 1-mile run. This will be a running rest day since I’ve logged longer miles the last three days. I’ll do the Fab Ab workout (which is getting tough!), some lunges and squats, then maybe end with a few weights to workout my arms.

Tuesday: 4-mile run. I will break this up into .5-mile segments that alternate between tempo and pace. Fab Ab, then stretching.

Wednesday: 3-mile hill intervals and Fab Ab.

Thursday: 1-mile rest day, plus Fab Ab.

Friday: A slow 3-miles and Fab Ab.

Saturday: Early morning 6-mile out and back in my hilly neighborhood, assuming it’s not super-cold or super-rainy. If so, I’ll push it to Sunday. If I had a friend to meet or a race to do, I wouldn’t care about the rain or cold, but when it’s just me, I have a hard time getting out there.

That’s the plan. Who wants to join me?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~KHP art below~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

KHP - Trees - I am starting a new illustration tonight.  As I type Illustrator is open, my sketch is out and Waacom tablet connected.  Here I GOOO.  This tree is an inspiration for part of the new project.

KHP – Trees – I am starting a new illustration tonight. As I type Illustrator is open, my sketch is out and Waacom tablet connected. Here I GOOO. This tree is an inspiration for part of the new project.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: 48 Days and 111 miles

  1. wwwmama says:

    I’m having weird pains in my upper ribcage from doing the pushups and crunches. I’m still getting it done though! I need to be in a bikini in April and want to lose 5 lbs by then. Maybe in March you can give me a toning workout plan like the Fab Ab that I can do for butt and arm toning? I figure when I get back on track with running, the weight will go, but toning is more difficult for me. If it takes more than 5 minutes, I don’t do it. Sad but true.

  2. khpixler says:

    Sorry I am ninth hour tonight but Mondays are insane. Nice job on the mileage!!! I am going to try to keep up with you this week. I just did a 3 but yesterday I played soccer. Next week I am going to run to soccer to warm up and get some extra miles in. My plan is 3 Tuesday, yoga wednesday, 5 Thursday, 2 Friday/yoga, 6 Saturday and 2 before soccer sunday.

  3. Pingback: Kristen R: Parenting, happiness and (one reason) why I run | Making It Daily

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: Running and the best laid plans | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

