KHP – ADD Versus Restorative Yoga

Warning! This was written as my head was randomly and uncontrollably nodding off into brief moments of slumber. 

Ding! Ding! Are you hearing the fight bells? If not, you should let me explain.  Let’s go back and set the stage.

Over the past couple of weeks Fabruary has quickly and steeply found its way back to Crabruary.  The month started with exciting running seminars, a feeling that change was right around the corner, and some how this year I would make it through the month I dread unscathed. Then reality hit.

The light is telling me spring is around the corner but old man winter is not giving up without a fight. The weather has been cold, wet, icy, snowy, windy and just all around a mess.  To make matters worse the plague has come to visit our house.  Not quite but since January the family has been caught in a series of horrid colds and flus.  This flu season has been epic for us as well as many other American families.  My girls have been hit hard with head colds and coughs; we have had fevers and stomach viruses.  It seems we go to the doctors for one thing and end up picking up a new disease on our visit.  I am about to head to a cabin in the woods with facemasks, a vat of hand sanitizer and fencing materials to build a fortress to keep intruders away from my babies.

In the beginning of the week, I was hopeful; we were all seemingly on the mend when disaster hit on Wednesday.  My mother-in-law and I ended up with a major stomach flu.  We each have had severe food poisoning and this was a comparable pain if not a little worse. I don’t think I have ever lost so much water in such a short time becoming dangerously dehydrated. My sickness slowly built up throughout the day, which gave me enough warning to organize a safe environment for my girls. I was lucky to get my artwork done and I was able to call my husband home to take care of the girls before I became completely incapacitated. We both survived the sickness and so far the rest of the family seems to have escaped this horrible illness.

On Thursday I was still very weak and very dehydrated, running was not an option.  After I completed my homework, art and ab workout, I decided a restorative practice might be a perfect balance between meeting my goals and making healthy choices.  I have done quite a few different types of Yoga, Bikram, Vinyasa, Iyengar, Ashtanga, Prenatal and recently Hatha.  I had never done an entire restorative practice and did not know what to expect.  I went to my online yoga classes, http://www.doyogawithme.com, and selected an evening restorative yoga class.  It was 40 minutes in length.  Not to long not short for a recovering girl.

The practice begins with a 5-minute opening meditation, using blankets and bolsters to avoid any real stretch or effort.  It was late and I was very tired, trying to meditate while comfortably lying on the floor was a bit of torture.  It turned into an act of mind tricks so I would not fall asleep.  The five minutes was up and we gradually, mindfully, and slowly moved our way out of the pose.  I popped up more quickly than instructed but I was ready for the practice to begin.  Hatha, often starts with a long relaxation and rolls into a beautiful deep practice that leaves your body feeling warm and loose in every joint.  As the section began I was ready and raring to go. I had my strap, blocks and was kicking aside my bolster and blankets when the instructor grabbed for them for another 5-minute meditation.  My mind was all over the place and my body was fidgeting.  I suffered through another 30 minutes of 5-minute meditation in supportive poses, with the instructor’s soft Scottish accent lulling me to sleep.

While teaching I had a couple of my school counselor friends tell me I display mild ADD.  They were trying to be helpful not funny or mean. This information made a lot of sense to me, as I have always been a slow reader.  I get distracted and re-read sentences, sections and pages over and over again.  I have always had very good comprehension but when I am reading something 5 times and you are only reading it once, I have an edge over the pack.

I don’t like to sit still but when I am fighting sleep my body fidgets and mind games become exacerbated.  I was adjusting and re-adjusting the bolsters, trying to find a little depth in the pose instead of allowing it to be restorative.  Rather than clearing the mind, I was thinking back to climbing trips, giggling about the silliness of my girls, considering future artwork and answering all the woes of the world.   If my lovely grey-haired Scottish instructor was in front of me she may have kicked me out of the class or slipped a valium into my water bottle. I started something and I was going to finish, even if it was in horrible form.

PS. I survived my restorative yoga practice but it may not a yoga style that I will choose in the future. I love http://www.doyogawithme.com it is an amazing website and excellent instruction.  My favorite part about the site is you are able to choose you duration, style and level.  Restorative Yoga may not be in my current pallet but the site definitely is used multiple times weekly. 

KHP - Phase 3 of 500, graphic illustration

KHP – Phase 3 of 500, graphic illustration

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KHP – ADD Versus Restorative Yoga

  1. Kristen R. says:

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better. How did you do that ab workout w/ the stomach flu? Way to stay strong! Take care if yourself, friend!

  2. wwwmama says:

    That’s what I was thinking! Use the break days! Hope you feel better soon. Crabruary…love it.

  3. khpixler says:

    I canot take credit for Crabruary, my friend Jesse used to say it all the time. I am still feeling under the weather, the stomach thing is gone but it left a snot monster in its stead. I did not do my ab workout until Thursday, the stomach event was Wednesday. I broke up the sit ups they were the only thing that felt a little off. I am ready for everyone in the house to feel better. I think I am going to start juicing some super foods and force feeding everyone in the family!

Leave a Reply

