KHP – Expectations and Anticipation

KHP - Avocado

KHP – Avocado and Egg

13_2_27_avocado_99_182611

KHP – Avocado and Rock

Well we have wrapped up another month and we are heading into month 3 of this blog.  Last month was rough, scattered with illnesses, stress and sleepless nights.  I went to open my journal to review the month.  I stopped as I was turning the page to review February.  I knew I was going to be disappointed with the results from this past month.  Oddly, I have started to gage my success based on my workout numbers even though my end of this blog is art everyday.  My art is not quantifiable as are my running and workouts.  I knew I did not hit my mileage and I am frustrated with the illness that captured my family and would not let go.  I was disappointed that I have not started a new linocut and I continue to drag my feet in indecision.  I turned the page and calculated my numbers, I looked through my sketchpad and I scrolled through the past month of entries.

All of the above is true, I did not hit the mileage I wanted, I was sick, the rest of the family was sick, I did not start a new linocut or wood block and stress was high. It was not the most graceful month of my life but reviewing my calendar and journal gave me a little perspective.  I was not as disappointed as I had expected.  My photography continues to evolve, I was able to capture images simply because I had a camera next to me.  I am sketching and drawing more regularly, this is a critical aspect of this year’s challenge.  I started a large-scale illustration that will evolve over the coming months.  I ran when I was able to and did a lot of yoga. I have had major issues with my right hip, hamstring and quadriceps since having PP.  I was ready to pay big bucks at the chiropractor to fix it.  I don’t want to speak to soon but I am fairly sure through Yoga and core training I fixed it! My speed is increasing in my runs and my runs are starting to feel good for the first time in years.  I completed the scheduled Fab Ab workout through illness and I am starting to feel the strength return to my core.  My expectations and goals evolved as the situation evolved.  I am thrilled that I was able to accomplish so much with so many obstacles in my path.

I ended this month strong with fast runs, good images and new ideas for illustrations, paintings and photographs.  I am anticipating a great month ahead but I will try to remember to leave my expectations aside.  KR mentioned a nutrition challenge for this month.  In honor of our new project I included some food photography. This is a theme I will continue throughout the month.  I am going to work on a mix of commercial and fine art in my portfolio this month.  I am going to be researching stock agencies and submit my work, it is time to quantify my artwork as wellJ.   I will try to leave my expectations aside and live in the moment.

Hello March, I missed you. Please bring spring, avoid illness, don’t dump a last minute snowstorm on us which you have done in the past numerous times.  My kids need to feel the fresh air and the dirt between their toes and to see the daffodils blooming.  I cannot wait to capture spring.  Expectations, they are hard to avoid.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KHP – Expectations and Anticipation

  1. Kristen R. says:

    You know, my runs are feeling really good after many years, too. I know it’s a combo of consistency and core work. I guess there’s something to be said for consistency after all. 😉 I’m quite proud of completing the Fab Ab Challenge, but can I just say, that yesterday’s 2-minute plank nearly killed me! March challenge will post tomorrow, so we get Friday off to be footloose and fancy-free. Enjoy!

  2. khpixler says:

    The plank was okay it was all those sit-ups. They still don’t feel that good. I am eating like a five year old today and then I plan on having a glass of wine or two while I plug through some homework. Plus lots of water, I have a run tomorrow:-) I have a feeling you are going to hurt me tomorrow.

  3. wwwmama says:

    Fresh air! Dirt! Daffodils! Yes please! I opened our windows yesterday. It felt so great.

Leave a Reply

