Kristen R: Motivating Moments

I’m not going to lie: This has been a rough week. I think it’s just fatigue — fatigue from a busy work week; fatigue from increasing my mileage; fatigue from Tuesday’s last bout of winter. It’s left me lacking in the motivation department, quite frankly.

We’ve all been through this: A rough or uninspired patch, as KHP blogged about yesterday. I’m looking forward to getting to the other side. I suspect that will come with the weekend and a little down time before another work frenzy kicks in next week — although that, thankfully, will be brief.

My old running group had a motto that I still abide by to this very day: “No wimps or whiners.” It just works so perfectly both in running and my day-do-day. While the occasional need to vent is healthy, the incessant need to complain is just not in my DNA. That’s why this post is short and smattered with just a few running- and not-so-running-related images to pick me up, get me through Friday and then my 8-miler on Saturday.

This is post race - one of the first I did after getting back into running. The first my oldest daughter saw me complete.

This is post race — one of the first I completed after getting back into running. It was the first race my oldest daughter saw me complete and I just love her big, excited smile.

Post half-marathon and reunion with KHP. We were much more excited about the weekend together than the race. I'm looking forward to more of these...

Post half-marathon and reunion weekend with KHP. We were much more excited about the weekend together than the race. I’m looking forward to more of these reunions and hope they include Claire.

...I'm posting this one just because I have to post a pic of each of my girls. Fairness. Plus, she's cute.

…I’m posting this one just because I have to post a pic of each of my girls. It’s only fair. Plus, she’s cute.

And this is running related because it got me thinking: We're willing to do that crazy beast of a marathon next year, but if we don't win an entry, should we pick a different destination -- one that the entire family would enjoy? Like Disney? Food for thought, friends.
And this is running related because it got me thinking: We’re willing to do that crazy beast of a marathon next year, but if we don’t win an entry, should we pick a different destination — one that the entire family would enjoy? Like Disney? Food for thought, friends.

And, despite the fact that I just haven’t felt in the flow this week, I’ve been productive. I logged some longer runs — even when I was dragging — and got through a busy week at work as well as at home.

And that’s something. See? I feel better already.

When you’re lacking in motivation or inspiration, how do you get through it?

Mileage to date below.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

Mileage to date: 165!

KHP - A close up of the illustration.  I am working on building up layers of mesh.  A mesh is a grid based gradient that is creates very organic results.  It is time consuming but if I keep plugging away it will be lovely.

KHP – A close up of the illustration. I am working on building up layers of mesh. A mesh is a grid based gradient that creates a very organic results. It is time consuming but if I keep plugging away it will be lovely.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kristen R: Motivating Moments

  1. lehorse says:

    Nice one and with you 100% killer week this one. Well done for keeping motivated when you have a great network of friends and family it is easy to find the motivation… Plus I am not doing this 2013 runstreak on my own so stay motivated lol

    • Kristen R. says:

      What was it about this week? I honestly am already feeling better thanks to yesterday’s short run. I think I needed that “rest day.” I’m looking forward to tackling 8 miles tomorrow, but kind of miss having a running partner/group to motivate me when I need the extra push. I run solo now and the alone is nice (b/c I so rarely have it), but I do miss the crazy conversations that would ensue with my running friends while logging a long run. I guess now it’s all about my running playlist on my iPhone. Ah…there’s our post: Motivating music. Keep on streaking, Brendon!… Looking forward to your next progress report.

  2. khpixler says:

    Nice work lady! You are kicking some tail. Look at how your mindset has changed over to do months you are taking off! This week has been rough. The past month has been hard over here and I feel like the groups complainy Janey as Em coined it. I usually stay positive but it has been hard through all the sicknesses and stress. I have one more month of this and I promise an attitude change:-) you always stay positive and focused on your goals. I am so impressed with your progression. I can’t wait to see you in June!

  3. wwwmama says:

    I stay motivated by reading your posts! Love the pictures so much but it makes me miss you too!

  4. khpixler says:

    I love the photos and you look beautiful. I can’t wait to get a new race photo together but I want one with all three of us. If you don’t win we could definitely find another destination race. I like the Disney idea!!! Maybe we could find a race with multiple lengths. There are a bunch of exotic races to look at!!

    • Kristen R. says:

      I have a photo if all three if us together. I imagined springing it on you guys as a surprise, then i remembered Claire might not want her face out there. So I’ll only spring it if she says it’s OK. 🙂

      • khpixler says:

        When! We all get together I want to schedule time to take some photos of all of us. Even if Claire does not want them posted I just think it would be nice as a keep sake. We can always take some that would be all of us without showing her face. I can only imagine the photo you have of us three. I am sure we were up to no good;)

Leave a Reply

