Kristen R: Through the Tunnel

My confession of fatigue and general ho-humminess (not a word) last post was cause for concern to some of you. OK, maybe just one of you (mom), but please know that I’m back in full form this week.

I tackled an 8-miler Saturday and, even though it was a solo run, I had a blast. I’m used to running longer runs with friends, so anything more than six or seven miles on my own is something I try to avoid. However, last year I had to do it on my own after signing up for a 10-mile race and half marathon with no running partners to speak of, so the solo training began.

When I set out Saturday morning, I had the route laid out in my mind. Like any good, obessesive runner, I lay my plan out a day or two before the run and execute with little to no variation. I’ve written about this before. You’d think I’d figure out a little variation can do a girl some good.

A foot bridge I crossed early into my Saturday run. I am kicking myself for not getting a tunnel photo, but I just felt too good stop.

A foot bridge I crossed early into my Saturday run. I am kicking myself for not getting a tunnel photo, but I just felt too good to stop.

I decided somewhere about halfway through to change things up. Rather than doubling back along the same path, I kept going.

I passed my usual turn-around and ran through a tunnel that connects the miriad of running paths in my subdivision. I ran through three more of them before my run was complete.

It was fun discovering these tunnels. I’m sure on most weekends they are packed with families: dads hauling bike caddies full of little ones, moms pushing jog strollers, kids scooting their way along a family walk. But early Saturday the tunnels were all mine.

My footsteps echoed as I ran through them. The morning light made them dark, shadowy and a wee bit eerie. They threw off my sense of direction every time I ran through one, under a road and onto a new part of the path I had never run before.

I smiled my way through this run. I made good time — with exception of the same hilly mile-and-a-half to two-miles that always slows me down near the end. It had been a rough week running, a rough week at work, and a rough week in general. I finally felt like I was back in this after plodding through a few days earlier in the week.

The best part? While it was cold during my 8 miles, it warmed up to nearly 60 degrees by the end of the day. Sunday was even warmer.

So here’s to long runs and new routes this spring — because it’s almost here. I can feel it.

Running log below. Also, just an update for my friends thinking about running the 2014 Blue Ridge Marathon (America’s Toughest Road Race) with me: I did not win the random drawing. Don’t know whether to be bummed or relieved. But this certainly begs the question: What now? Blue Ridge? Destination marathon? Hmmm…

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Mileage to date. I'll log some longer runs this month to prepare for the two races I have next month: Cherry Blossom 10-miler and Park-to-Park half marathon.

Mileage to date. I’ll log some longer runs this month to prepare for the two races I have next month: Cherry Blossom 10-miler and Park-to-Park half marathon.

˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚KHP Art Below˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚

KHP - quick jaunt in the woods.  The ticks are already out here in PA.  YUCK!!!

KHP – quick jaunt in the woods. The ticks are already out here in PA. YUCK!!!

KHP - I developed more of the tones on the plate last night.  I am hoping to start carving tomorrow.

KHP – I developed more of the tones on the plate last night. I am hoping to start carving tomorrow.

 

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kristen R: Through the Tunnel

  1. lehorse says:

    Glad to see you are back on form, good news and sounds like a cool run. I do like that idea think I may just pick a direction and run and see where it takes me ……. Need a picture of those tunnels 🙂

    • Kristen R. says:

      I failed to mention one tunnel spit me out on a golf course that does not take kindly to runners. But it was early so I didn’t get into trouble – and I plan to rebel by returning to the scene of my crime on future runs. And will get pictures next time!

      • khpixler says:

        Trouble maker! I am glad you had a good run on Saturday and enjoying the signs of spring. I hope you are feeling the cheers from up North.

  2. lehorse says:

    Wear a helmet 😀

  3. wwwmama says:

    8 miles. It sounds nice, until I’d actually have to do it. I need a running partner. Glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

