KHP – 0,1,1,2,3,5,8,13 – A Design Geeks Training Program

KHP - The Fibonacci series applied to a rectangle.

KHP – The Fibonacci series applied to a rectangle.

As I was out on my run today my mind starting to wonder into a meditative state, I was not completely aware of my body or my mind, it was all just blending into the scenery.  It was 28 degrees, windy with random snow squalls ripping through the valley but the sun was breaking through cumulus clouds.  Without any real conscious purpose I started to focus on the numbers in my training log.  I was not analyzing my runs just thinking about the actual numbers.  They were running through my head like ticker tape: 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8,1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8.  I realized I had been using the Fibonacci series in my training! This could make any artist smile with pride.

Nautilus Spiral

Nautilus Spiral

The Fibonacci Sequence is a specific set of numbers or more specifically a set of numbers with a recurring relation.  The gist of it is the sequence starts with 0 and 1, and each subsequent number is the sum of the previous two.  I teach this concept to my design students along with the Golden Ratio which is a proportional number of 1.618.  These concepts are used for layout in web and graphic design.  It is also used to project stocks, in music composition and theory, in science and of course mathematics.  This sequence is found all over the human body and in nature.  Leonardo Da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man is proof of the Golden Ratio and Fibonacci Sequence.  It is found in the perfect and natural form of the nautilus shell’s spiral.

Leonardo Da Vinci's Vitruvian Man

Leonardo Da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man

What I find most fascinating about the Golden Mean and the Fibonacci series is that we as humans are unconsciously attracted to forms that hold these mathematical sequences.  It is part of our DNA to seek them out and we find them aesthetically pleasing and in many cases calming.  When I found the numbers popping up in my log I was completely intrigued.  I have not had any real strategy to my training right now.  I am only following what feels right.  So is what I feel to be right  due to this recurring relationship, a spiraling progression.

I began to wonder if there were other folks training in this way.  I was not surprised to see that books have been written on the subject and there are many training programs based on applying the Fibonacci Sequence to the workouts.  I could not find any resources on running training programs but there was a ton on weight lifting and other fitness programs.  I doubt I will create a training program off this numeric relationship but I love that it appeared.  It certainly made this design geek happy, a convergence of my art and sport.

Parthenon - The Golden Mean and  Fibonacci Sequence have been found in ancient Roman Architecture.

Parthenon – The Golden Mean and Fibonacci Sequence have been found in ancient Roman Architecture.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to KHP – 0,1,1,2,3,5,8,13 – A Design Geeks Training Program

  1. Kristen R. says:

    Interesting. I should look at my mileage pattern but on long runs my mind wanders (if I’m not listening to music) and I begin counting, too. My sequence is 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and it’s to the rythym dancers use, if that makes any sense. The emphasis is on the even numbers. Also, when I run I envision the da Vinci man from the side so he’s running and try to mimick perfect running form. With music, i just speed up or slow diwn based in the beat. Whatever gets us through, I guess!

    • khpixler says:

      I used to count to 8 especially when I was working on my pace. Chi running and the natural running craze have you run to a metronome. Matt rubs this way and he subscribes to a podcast that the music is set to this certain cadence
      I LOVE that you picture the side profile of the Vitruvian Man to focus on your form. That is really cool. It is working as I was always impressed with your fluid running style. I just thought this was really neat.

  2. wwwmama says:

    Weird and cool! I don’t have any counting issues when I run but I do have physical tics that come out when I run (and when I’m tired).

  3. khpixler says:

    I love the weird and cool things. They make me smile. I still want to find if there is a running program based on this sequence out of shear curiosity. I need to do an advanced search as I kept getting sites relating to computer programming and stock projecting.

Leave a Reply

