Kristen R: Looking Ahead to Race Day

I’m actually writing this the day before my long run — a 9-miler I’ll tackle early Saturday morning, just as this post is making its way into the world. I’m thankful to be meeting a friend because, otherwise, I would have hard time getting out there before 8 a.m. on a 30-degree morning. And while the weather promises to be spring-like later in the day tomorrow, we just might get one more snow blitz come Sunday. (Hear that? It’s me crying. I’m so very over winter weather.)

I’m about two weeks away from my first race of the year, the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run in Washington, D.C. The race takes place during the annual Cherry Blossom Festival which is a spring rite of passage for the area. And, of course, it’s all about catching those blossoms at their peak: Bloom Watch predicts they will peak between April 3-6. My race is April 7, so I’m thinking I’ll get some good blossom action along the course.

Photo courtesy of the National Cherry Blossom Festival.

Popcorn trees!
Photo courtesy of the National Cherry Blossom Festival.

The Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run starts on the lawn of the National Mall directly beside the Washington Monument. Waves upon waves of runners are staggered at the start so the build up to actually cross the starting line can feel a little epic. Once you get going, you are adrift in a sea of runners as you wind your way through the course in D.C.

If you’re lucky, the cherry blossoms are at their peak so the trees that line the race course look like they are sprouting popcorn and as the petals rain down, it looks like snow. With so much to see and so many runners surrounding you, you pay no mind to the mile markers. Last year, by the time I reached mile 6, I was surprised to be more than half-way finished.

I hope the Cherry Blossom I envision in my head is as nice as the one I run early next month. What’s your game plan for poor conditions on a race day? Have any good tips or tricks that help you grin and bear it?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Mileage to date for 2013.

Mileage to date for 2013.

˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚KHP Art Below˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚˚

KHP-Print Group 2 hours - it looks like nothing was done but I promise this is some substantial progress!!!

KHP-Print Group 2 hours – it looks like nothing was done but I promise this is some substantial progress!!!

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kristen R: Looking Ahead to Race Day

  1. khpixler says:

    I hope your nine miler went well today. I did not get in the mileage that I wanted today but I have a super fast time. I was so happy when I came home and looked at my splits. I usually do a short run on Sunday but without soccer tomorrow I think I am going to do another moderate miler to make up for it. I ran in the afternoon and it was beautiful, I hope you did not freeze your tail off. I am thinking beautiful conditions for your run so no need to plan for bad weather strategy:) Plus once you get a mile or two into it, it doesn’t matter anyway. Look at the surroundings and have a blast just like you said. The cliche is true, stepping out the door is the hardest step you take. It is never a problem on race day unless you are there for the weekend with your long lost BFF and all you want to do is sit on the deck and chat:)

    • Kristen R. says:

      My nine was great – but I was lucky to be meeting someone. Otherwise, it would have been rough getting out there b/c it was cold. You’re right, though, after a mile or two you forget about the conditions anyway. Glad you had a good run! (And yes, all I wanted to do for our race was hang out! Then when we did, I fell asleep…)

  2. Pingback: Kristen R: Friday Frenzy | Making It Daily

  3. Pingback: Kristen R: April Commitments | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

