Kristen R: A Plea to Spring

“It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!” -Mark Twain

I’m just putting this out into the universe: I wish all of us to have experienced our last snow day of the season. I wish for spring blooms, crisp not cold morning runs, and an end to pulling on the heavy coat each morning. I wish for Sunday afternoons spent outdoors with my kids. I wish to stuff my running tights into the bottom of the drawer for a while. I wish for t-shirts, flip flops and open-toed heels, red toenails, and open windows that let the breeze blow inside. I wish to open my sunroof so my girls will giggle from feeling the wind in their hair. I wish for fireflies, a vegetable garden, camping in the mountains, and sticky smores. I wish for a summer run in the rain and afternoons spent at the pool after work. I wish to sip a Pimm’s with my husband while he grills us good things to eat. I wish for spring to makes it way to Virginia.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

P.S. I’ve hit 81+ miles already this month, topping Jan. and Feb. totals in just 25 days. That feels good, despite feeling like a wounded soldier in the war being waged between winter and spring. And, full disclosure, it was nice having (hopefully) one last snow day with the family.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - The Juniper Illustration, it is still far from done and I am at a very technical annoying part of the drawing.  I might never want to look it one again after this illustration and the carving;).

KHP – The Juniper Illustration, it is still far from done and I am at a very technical annoying part of the drawing. I might never want to look it one again after this illustration and the carving;).

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kristen R: A Plea to Spring

  1. lehorse says:

    Oh how I hope this is the last of the snow over here too I am pretty much wishing for all the same maybe not the open toed heels 🙂 Great Mileage for March BTW

  2. lehorse says:

    Only on a Thursday night lol

  3. wwwmama says:

    A snow day? Really?! Wow, it’s never-ending. I gotta get me a Pimm’s. Every time I hear that word I picture that bar we went to in N’awlins on our last trip when we figured out the perfect way to spend a day.

Leave a Reply

