Kristen R: Friday Frenzy

Here’s a quick mashup of all that’s coming up for me within the next week. Not terribly intersting for you, but might make a good means of catching up with my blogging partners. In no particular order, here goes:

  • My first race of the season is about a week away. I’m excited to tackle it, run with my friends and enjoy myself. I feel prepared.
  • I’ve had this pain in my left calf. It’s mostly in my calf, but sometimes it’s in my shin, so I can’t decide if it’s a shin splint or a tight calf muscle (or both?). Whatever it is, I’ve rested the last couple of days with easy 1-milers and I’ve been wearing flats to work. Although, today I caved and wore heels. Lesson learned: I shouldn’t have done that. If anyone has any tips on dealing with this twingy little pain, let me know. I might try compression socks. I haven’t ever run in them before but I plan to get pink ones — or something semi-loud.
  •  Tomorrow is a holiday for me and my almost-3-year-old. I am looking forward to a low-key day off with her.
  • Next week, is spring break for my 6-year-old. I’m taking the week off (Yay!) and have an overnight trip planned for just the two of us early in the week. I’m surprising her by taking the train to Washington, D.C., and spending the day at museums and the zoo. We’ll spend the night then do it all over again before taking the return train home. I’ll be interested to see how I fit in my runs into this little getaway.
  • I’ll be transitioning into a new role at work when I get back from vacation. Just found out today. Same company, new job — and I’m really excited for the change.

There you have it. Nothing terribly profound today, but just a frenzy of little things coming together all at once. I’m excited to officially say I’m on vacation today — and equally excited to end vacation with my first race of the season next Sunday (April 7).

Also? For anyone else out there making it daily, do you realize that Day 100 is not too far off? How should we mark this big day?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - This is my carving progress.  This was done much earlier but I was hoping to get out for a photo shoot today as well.  I figured people were sick of seeing this image.  The girls were not cooperating so I here is the print:)

KHP – This is my carving progress. This was done much earlier but I was hoping to get out for a photo shoot today as well. I figured people were sick of seeing this image. The girls were not cooperating so here is the print:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kristen R: Friday Frenzy

  1. lehorse says:

    Re the calf / shin problem I would strongly suggest not wearing compression socks/calf guards when running while you have this shin pain. I had the exact same problem earlier this year. http://365days3000km.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/from-heaven-to-hell-and-half-way-back-again-week-2-review/ they will increase the pressure on your shins and it will get worse. What I would do is short runs and then Ice your calf and shin and then put on your compression socks/calf guards nurofen gel is also really good. I don’t know about your foot strike but I made a concious decision to concentrate on a mid to forfoot strike as heekl striking really does build that pressure on your shins. I hope this helps if you need more detail you know where I am, Oh and good luck with the new job and I hope you and your family have a great Easter Break 🙂

    • Kristen R. says:

      Good advice all around. I’m going to check out that form video you linked to on YouTube, too. Will also try the socks after running (Great tip!). I’ve been icing and that helps. I did a google search, as you did, which was just bad. That made me believe I had a thousand stress fractures or something equally dramatic. It’s funny, I have a similar post around the same time if starting from having low back pain. Thanks for the info and well wishes. I hope you and your family have a nice Easter, as well!

  2. lehorse says:

    No worries just read the post about your back ouch I am guessing it is all good now but not sure if you saw this I had a full body Matrix done and my lower back came up as a weakness. Carl gave me some exercises to help prevent any problems have a look they help http://365days3000km.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/brendon-birch-matrix-exs-1.pdf . Are we mental ?????

    • Kristen R. says:

      I will check that out. The matrix sound cool. My back is much better after doing some strengthening stuff. I just need to keep up w/ it so it won’t happen again. And yes, we’re totally mental. 🙂

  3. wwwmama says:

    What’s the new job? Exciting! We have to plan an outing to DC at the same time. Maybe in the summer with the girls?

  4. khpixler says:

    Hurray on the new job and it looks like you are getting some solid advice on your calf issue. I am a huge advocate of icing! I am having some tweaks in my right foot and and shin. It is still all on the right side with the hip, quad and now foot. The right shin is where I had the crazy tendonitis when I was coaching. I am still trying to work it all out.

    I would love to meet up in DC with the girls or we could hit Baltimore to go to the Aquarium. Nora could meet us down there! Enjoy your week. We are having a nice day with the girls everyone is home.

Leave a Reply

