Kristen R: April Commitments

Another month is complete — the first quarter of 2013 is in the bag.

March’s challenges were tough for me. As I increased mileage training for April races, it was hard to get through the mini-cross training workouts I set out to do at the beginning of the month. I wasn’t as committed as was to February’s Fab Ab Challenge.

Since I saw good results in February — and felt those results in my daily running — I’ve decided to try that again. I’ve created a similar calendar for daily ab work, but this one starts around the halfway point as far as reps go. It still ends the same with 100 sit ups, 25 push ups and a 2 minute plank, but assuming you’ve continued some of the ab work, it should be easier to start at higher reps. If not, I would suggest you start from the beginning by shifting the Fab Ab Feb. calendar around.

april ab challenge

I would also like to do something diet related this month. I actually want to bite the bullet and cut out processed foods, but I think I’ll start small and just cut down on them. I don’t eat a ton, but I’m sure I’m eating more than I realize. So, I’m going to eat more fruit and veggies, less carb-y stuff like pasta, rice, chips, sugar, etc. I might even start sharing my food log for April. Posting things here has certainly kept me accountable.

More on that after my two-day excursion to Washington, D.C. with my Bean. Once home, I’ll have a few more days off with her, then turn I around and head back to D.C. for the Cherry Blossom 10-mile Run.

My running has been good. My calf felt better during and after my 10-miler on Saturday, and I tried to keep the mileage low before that run just give it some rest. However, Sunday was rough because I felt completely depleted after Saturday’s long run — so lesson learned as far as eating better for recovery. At least, that’s what I assumed it was. I was more focused on enjoying the 70-degree weather with my family than eating a decent meal that day. Won’t let that happen again.

What you’ll see from me this week: photos and a race report .

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - Snooze but this is what I captured on the way home.

KHP – Snooze but this is what I captured on the way home.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Challenge, Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Kristen R: April Commitments

  1. wwwmama says:

    10 miles! Good for you. I was impressed with myself that I went to 4 the other day…just shows how far off I am 🙂
    I gave up dairy for a week and now know lactose is my primary, but not the only, digestive issue. I may eventually join you on fewer processed foods.

    • Kristen R. says:

      Well, as I’ve said, I can go long, but it won’t be fast. You’re not off, you’re just working on a 5k PR that I couldn’t touch if I tried. We’re all Bad Betties in our own right!

  2. khpixler says:

    I LOVE SEEING YOU TOTALS. You rock! I am running a 10 miler next weekend and I will pretend that I am running with you at the Cherry Blossom Festival. I am glad your calf was feeling pretty good. I am going to join you on the April Fab Ab. I think I am going to post a cross-training workout i am going to incorporate just a couple time a week to get ramped of for May. I will join in on limiting my processed foods this month. I also want to add a dark leafy veggie everyday. I noticed I have my best runs when I am eating a lot of arugula. Hope you a Bean are having fun!

    • Kristen R. says:

      I’m interested in your cross training! Let me know. Also, try sweet potatoes a day before a long run. Awesomeness! Glad you’ll be with me in 10-miler spirit.
      🙂

  3. lehorse says:

    Nice plan for April and well done for March and completing the first quarter (hurray) March sure was a hard month really do need to keep ontop of your nutrition. Please be careful when cutting foods out, from about the second week in March I cut out all processed food out and well you saw the results when I just took my nutrition for granted. Take care keep running 🙂

    • Kristen R. says:

      So did you add those foods back in after having issues or did you just make a better plan for what/when you ate? Also congrats to you as well. Yep, we’ve got to keep on running. Nine more months. Whew, sounds like a lot, but not as crazy as 12 did.

  4. lehorse says:

    I had to get a quick big calorie hit to get me back up and going so it was lots of peanut brittle, snickers etc. I am still cutting the crap out but just being alot more sensible and structured with my food plan. I like your idea of putting up a food diary though. How do you feel about both of us doing it next week and see if we can get any tips from each other??

    • Kristen R. says:

      I like that idea. I have a race Sunday, so want to start Monday? (I will eat like a queen Sunday post-race, so I can skirt a little judgment that way, ha!). I will try to post my food log plus what I plan to run for the week (my day to post might not hit until Tuesday). My runs will be a little lighter, so i’ll check in w/ you at the end of the week and see if we want to extend it.

      • lehorse says:

        Sounds like a plan I will start from Monday logging my Mon food diary on the tuesday plus my output (swim/bike/run) Looking forward to seeing the results

      • Kristen R. says:

        Good! Looking forward to it as well. I know you did swimming last week, but are you starting to add in swimming and biking or have you been doing that all along?

  5. lehorse says:

    Oh and glad the calf is feeling better 🙂

  6. lehorse says:

    I cycle about 100-150 miles per week been limited because of the weather so have had to put the bike on my turbo trainer swimming wise been in the pool but just doing a slow 1-1.5km per week looking to ramp it up now as have a couple of races coming up and a half Iron man in August. So will be getting more structured sessions in the pool and some longish brick sessions 50-60 mile ride with about 10km run.

    • Kristen R. says:

      That’s impressive given all the running. Recovery for you will be a very different story.

      BTW I’m going to get my leg looked at today. My calf/shin pain is back and I’m hoping it’s just a shin splint, but I want to rule out anything worse for peace of mind. Nervous!!

  7. lehorse says:

    I hope it goes ok today one word of advice if you are seeing a doctor about your leg get a second opinion (good/bad) from a sports physio I am not sure what it is like over with you guys but the majority of doctors in the UK are really bad at picking up running injuries and have very poor knowledge on treatment. The stock answer is always stop running and thats it.

    • Kristen R. says:

      That’s what I’m afraid of (its the same over here). I keep debating whether to go or not, but I just want to rule out stress fracture. Of course, it’s feeling ok now, but after last night’s run it was bad off again. It’s more frustrating than anything…

  8. lehorse says:

    Will keep my fingers crossed But I very much doubt you have a fracture of any kind. My Physio said to me when I mentioned the dreaded ‘have I got shin splints’ ” you will be here seeing me not able to run way before you have shin splints/Stress fractures” You will find that it is more to do with your tendons and muscle stress. is the pain in your calf running down into the inside of you ankle? and is the pain in your shin just below halfway up and were the muscle on the outside of your shin joins the bone (you can feel pain when you run your finger between the muscle and the Tibia) but only in one two at most spots?

    • Kristen R. says:

      Yes! Calf pain doesn’t run quite to ankle but I feel it where you mentioned on both sides. Shin pain is really tender to touch, but I can run. After running it hurts the most, but I’ve been icing. This is making me feel better. Google can be panic-inducing. 🙂

  9. lehorse says:

    Personally and this is just my opinion I would take it easy for a week maybe a walk run strategy, run until you feel the pain coming (is abit like pressure building?) and then walk until it eases off. Continue with the icing and compression after your runs and I would also reccomend for no more than 1 week do a course of Iboprofen. Also trying and keep from heel striking as much as possible. And while you are sitting down either having a coffee (oh you were right tea is my coffee I am English afterall no bowler hat though ) or at your desk bend your legs at 90 degress feet flat on the floor and do toe taps keep going until you feel the burn continue for another 10-20 secs and then relax this is great for strengthening the muscle on the front of your shin. the pain in your calf and ankle should be sorted with the Iboprofen and the ice and compression and some good stretching. But to help the ankles a little more hold your legs out say off the end of a bed and spell out the alphabet with your foot lowercase with your right then the same with your left and then uppercase with your right then left. I know it sounds daft but is really good just concentrate on usinging your foot to spell out the letters and not your leg.

    • Kristen R. says:

      So what you’re saying is I’m a paranoid crazy person who is doing too much googling? 😉 Your advice is good and I’ll definitely take it. You might have missed your calling for sports medicine, esp after this year! I will try the easy run/walks after my Sunday race, too. My food log might not be too helpful if I’m taking it easy, but I’ll still log it (and might continue leading up to my half marathon on the 27th). Cheers, Brendon! Stay tuned…

  10. lehorse says:

    No worries and good luck for Sunday oh and yeah completly paranoid and crazy but that makes two of us lol

Leave a Reply

