KHP – April 3, 2013

KHP - more carving:)

KHP – more carving:)

I sit here in front of my computer trying to take inventory of the past month and come up with a plan of attack for April.  At the beginning of the new month I enjoy looking back at what I have just accomplished.  It is good for me to review my running log and portfolio. What I found in my review is that I was extremely productive during the month of March.  My inspiration was a bit low due to the shear magnitude of work I juggled.  I project that April will be a similar type of month.  My eye is twitching as I type! In March I was able to complete 90 miles, 10 hours of yoga, photography, illustrations, printmaking and more.  I had more days than I would like with mediocre work but there were a few pieces that rank very high on my scale.

Looking forward to April and further down the road to May; these months will continue to be difficult due to freelance work deadlines, my teaching schedule and the creation of my online course.  During these busy months I want to try to bring back consistency in my work and take the time to develop a more conceptual portfolio.  I have been very processed oriented since the beginning of the blog.  This month I want to create a series of composite images that will build on my current fairytale and forest fairy series.     Before I can move on I must complete at least one of the current assignments; my Juniper tree linocut and illustration.  These projects are at a difficult stage;  I want so badly to finish them but I am exhausted by the images.  The linocut should be carved out by the weekend but the illustration maybe another month before it is complete.  Mesh illustration takes a long time and is tedious work.

In my training I would like continue building up my runs, core strength and flexibility.  I plan to incorporate strength training this month.  I have listed my workout below in some detail.  I designed this work out and it is one of my favorites.  I pulled bits from coaching soccer, from working with trainers and from other runners. I started doing this workout before my second daughter was born when I was trying to jam as much as I could in an hour workout.

  1. Warm up run  (distance varies upon schedule and weekly training typically a 5K)– easy
  2. Interval training sprints – 1 mile
  3. Lunge kicks/ Bicep curls – 3 sets of 20
  4. Jump squats / Overhead press – 3 sets of 10
  5. Toe taps on ball – 45 sec/ Triceps’ dips – 3 sets of 10
  6. Jump rope – 2minutes/ Push ups – 3 sets of 15
  7. Wall sit/ Seated oblique twist (punching the floor with feet off the ground)– 3 sets of 1 minute
  8. Burpees (ugh as many as I can muster but I will build – this is a new element)
  9. 2 – 1 minute plank

(I may start off with one set and build up to the 3 by the end of the month.  I was in similar shape when I was doing this before but my mileage was a little lower)

I look forward to April but I tread lightly as I know it will be a challenging month.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Photography, Printmaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – April 3, 2013

  1. wwwmama says:

    I love the carving!

    • Kristen R. says:

      I do, too. It’s interesting to see these progress…

      I like your workout plan, too. Great mileage for March! My mileage has been low the last week/week-and-a-half b/c I’ve just been feeling aches and pains (my calf, my lower back again but in a different spot). I hate to admit it but it might be my shoes. I’m going to the running store today to see if they can help. I feel like I have no spring in my step b/c of all these little twinges. It may also be from whatever had me down on Sunday. I slept a lot that day and my body was aching. Oh well… It happens, right?

      You had a good month!

Leave a Reply

