Kristen R: Weekly Photo Challenge – A Day in My Life

I thought the current weekly photo challenge sounded like fun — A Day in My Life — so I used a recent getaway with my oldest daughter as the day I would share.

Our quick overnight trek to Washington, D.C. was anything but a typical day for me. Spending two full days alone with her hasn’t happened since she became a big sister three years ago, and the time was an absolute treasure.

The trip was a surprise, as was the train we caught to get there.
The trip was a surprise, as was the train we caught to get there.
Surprise: You're at Union Station in D.C.! She was a little excited...

Surprise: You’re at Union Station in D.C.! She was a little excited…

D.C. hoolum.

D.C. hoolum. First stop: Washington Monument.

I couldn't capture my Bean any better than I did in this shot.

I couldn’t capture my Bean any better than I did in this shot. She is happy and light; she loves new experiences but also gets nostalgic talking about “when she was a little girl” (which only makes me giggle).

She snapped my photo at the WWII Memorial under the dedication to Mississippi vets. My granddad was a Mississippi man who fought in the Battle of the Bulge. He rarely spoke of WWII, much less the Bulge. He did share with husband once that it was the coldest winter of his life.

She snapped my photo at the WWII Memorial under the dedication to Mississippi vets. My granddad was a Mississippi man who fought in the Battle of the Bulge. He rarely spoke of WWII, much less the Bulge. He did share with my husband once that it was the coldest winter of his life.

This bench caught my eye, much to husband's disappointment, I'm sure. I've asked for a smaller version in our backyard. I hate to ask, but he's just so good at making these sorts of things.

This bench caught my eye, much to my husband’s disappointment, I’m sure. I’ve asked for a smaller version in our backyard. I hate to ask, but he’s just so good at making these sorts of things.

The Bean had been learning about Honest Ab in school and so I make sure she got to meet him. Later, at the American History Museum, she read to me how the Emancipation Proclamation came to be.

The Bean had been learning about Honest Ab in school and so I made sure she got to meet him. Later, at the American History Museum, she read to me how the Emancipation Proclamation came to be.

After much, much walking and many, many stairs, we had some quick downtime before dinner. It was vacation, after all...

After much, much walking and many, many stairs, we enjoyed some downtime before dinner. For me this meant laying on a pile of pillows with my feet up, reading many uninterrupted pages of my book. For her, it meant, not one, but TWO cartoon shows in a row. It was vacation, after all…

After an early dinner, we lounged in our hotel room before turning in. I snapped a quick photo of our view before the sun turned in, as well.

After an early dinner, we lounged in our hotel room before turning in. I snapped a quick photo of our view before the sun turned in, as well.

Finally, my mileage to date. It has nothing to do with our trip, but I do owe you my miles. I got a short, quick run in before our train, then did the same once we got home the next evening. After so much walking, I had tired legs, so my planned 4-miler turned in to an almost 3 miles. My time was decent, but I was really feeling it out there. I hope to have more spring in my step tomorrow.

Finally, my mileage to date. It has nothing to do with our trip, but I do owe you my miles. I got a short, quick run in before catching our train, then did the same once home the next evening. After so much walking, I had tired legs, so my planned 4-miler turned into being just shy of 3 miles. My time was decent, but I was really feeling it out there. I hope to have more spring in my step tomorrow.
Gotta run!
Kristen R.

KHP Art Below

KHP - This maybe subtle but it is a huge break through for me on this illustration.  I finally figured out how I want to capture the light and texture.  It is a tedious layering of texture, variable line weight details, a mesh for shape and a radial gradient on top for light source.  Some times digital illustration seems so much harder than drawing on paper!

KHP – This maybe subtle but it is a huge break through for me on this illustration. I finally figured out how I want to capture the light and texture. It is a tedious layering of texture, variable line weight details, a mesh for shape and a radial gradient on top for light source. Some times digital illustration seems so much harder than drawing on paper!

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
Gallery | This entry was posted in Challenge, Kristen R., Photography, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: Weekly Photo Challenge – A Day in My Life

  1. wwwmama says:

    Love the pics and miss the Bean and you too! This makes me want to take Free away on a trip.

  2. Kristen says:

    I love this and I love seeing Bean out there looking like such a big happy excited girl. I also agree that you must have a smaller version of that bench partially due to have such a talented husband. He has to show of his stuff.
    I tried the photo challenge today and things fell apart at the end of the day. I will try again tomorrow. The photos of you all make me miss you and wish we were there. Too many trips we have made to run around DC, it has been too long.

Leave a Reply

