KHP – Birthday Wishes

KHP - This is the big oak that the Big Oak Cafe is named after.

KHP – This is the big oak that the Big Oak Cafe is named after.

Today was a hard day in our house.  It was one of those days as a parent that you want to pull your hair out then head to your room and shut the door.  I had a great day at work but when I was at home, both girls just were fighting with me on every little request.  They were arguing with each other and emotional from a late night and early morning.  Like most young children they are schedule oriented and if there is the slightest change in their schedule things just seem to fall apart.  They have been going non-stop since the weather has changed and a lull at home today brought out all of the scattered emotions pent up inside.

As you are reading this, it is April 18th, my mother’s birthday.  I sit here in front of the computer trying to find the words to express how my mother has affected my life and what she means to me.  I want to write a poetic and beautiful tribute to a woman that has cared for so many, seems to have an endless supply of energy and love to spread around.  I imagine that she had many nights where her tank was empty, the seven of us were driving her up the wall and she ran on fumes until she could find a few hours of rest.

KHP - Happy Birthday Grandma!

KHP – Happy Birthday Grandma!

I am from a large wonderful family, with two brothers and four sisters.  My parents are dependable, selfless and caring.  My father was in the Navy when we were young and he had to leave us for months on end.  My mom was home holding down the fort. She took care of each of us, scurrying around the house baking, cooking, cleaning but always finding time to play with us or set up a fun craft.

She spent much of her spare time (which was little) in the garden digging in the dirt, planting flowers, weeding, splitting bulbs, replanting and rearranging.  This activity makes her feel closer to God and his creations but it is her moments of peace in the day. I share her love for gardening and we are both are inflicted with the “ever expanding garden” syndrome. “Too much” is not a phrase we know in the garden; most landscape designer should be rolling around in pain right now.

The girls and I look forward to celebrating with her on Friday.  I hope that the day will be warm enough for her to read her prayers out on the patio with her tea steeping on the table next to her.  I know she will be bombarded with calls and messages from family scattered across the states.  I hope she feels the warmth, love and support that she gives to so many, even when she has run out of steam.

KHP - It is finally done and ready to print for the weekend. Now what to work on next.

KHP – It is finally done and ready to print for the weekend. Now what to work on next.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Kristen P., Motherhood, Photography, Printmaking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KHP – Birthday Wishes

  1. Kristen R. says:

    Aww! Happy birthday to your mom. I know you will have a wonderful time with her on Friday — enjoy.

    And, I know those hair-pulling moments with the kids all too well. Some days are diamonds and some days are stone, right? 🙂

  2. Kristen says:

    We had a long stretch of good behaviors and busy days. They were bound to take a nose dive. Everybody is back on board today and pumped up about seeing grandma tomorrow!! Diamonds and stones I was thinking of that yesterday and thinking of you. You and John keeping me in check;)

  3. wwwmama says:

    How was the celebration? I’m a little behind on my posts but back now! I love that photo of your little one.

Leave a Reply

