Kristen R: What’s on Your Running Playlist?

ipodToday I’m posing that age-old question to runners near and far: What music is on your running playlist?

I find that the music I run to does not reflect the music I listen to in my day-to-day — at all. For instance, that Shakira song from the most recent World Cup, Waka Waka (This Time for Africa)? It’s front and center on my favorite running playlist. It’s just a great song to run to, but there is really no other time you’ll find me listening to her music. Nothing wrong with it, just personal preference. The rest of the music runs gamut from rap and dated 90s stuff to embarrassing current and not-so-current hits. (Eye of the Tiger? Check. Justin Timberlake Sexy Back? Check. What? I said some of it was embarrassing. Whatever it takes to keep me moving out there!)

But I’m in need something new to put a little more pep in my step. So I’m turning to you, dear readers. What are your absolute favorite songs to listen to while running?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

I think my mileage will be on the low side this month since I've been nursing a sprained calf, but I'll have my longest runs to date -- a few 10s and a half marathon. Not too shabby.

I think my mileage will be on the low side this month since I’ve been nursing a sprained calf, but I’ll have my longest runs to date — a few 10s and a half marathon. Not too shabby.

KHP Art Below

KHP - I took this picture in the winter and was not sure why I bother with it.  I kept coming back to it.  I wish I did not have the inspiration.

KHP – I took this picture in the winter and was not sure why I bother with it. I kept coming back to it. I wish I did not have the inspiration.

KHP - The trunk of the Big Oak, a symbol of strength.

KHP – The trunk of the Big Oak, a symbol of strength.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kristen R: What’s on Your Running Playlist?

  1. lehorse says:

    Depends on my mood can’t beat a good bit of Queen “ride the wild wind, Hitman” pretty much anything off the RockyBalboa sountrack, the good old prodigy for some speed work and abit of James Brown “Hot pants, and Get on up” nice

    • Kristen R. says:

      ah! Prodigy for speed work. Good one. And i might need to add some James Brown. I could see that being a good thing! I also want to try something called Cruise Control: Run, which is an iPhone app that tweaks the beat of your music to control your pace. You put in the pace you want, it changes the beat accordingly to alter your cadence.

  2. Ani Danelz says:

    Here is my playlist: http://milesforthought.wordpress.com/2013/03/10/music-gets-me-moving a nice mix of indie/alternative to keep me moving!

  3. Your husband says:

    Not running but my favorite pinball music is welcome to the terrordome by Public Enemy.

    • Kristen R. says:

      I’ve got some public enemy on my running playlist thanks to you. My playlist is very, very eclectic but gets the job done.

      • khpixler says:

        I am so boring and listen to the faster pace versions of my regular music. I listen to Latin music when I run. Haha rogrigez y grabriella is a favorite. I like to shake my buddy to some Latin jams. Lol.
        Cindy and I ran together listening to head phones but she made matching tapes and we would hit the play button so we would be in sync. Which still makes me laugh to years when I think about it.
        Sorry for the uncoordinated art.

  4. Kristen says:

    Booty. LOL

    • Kristen R. says:

      I love that she made two tapes for you to run to together! That’s awesome. Reagan sent me a running CD a year or two ago and it’s great. Latin tunes sound great to me. Some people like podcasts but I think I need a fast beat rather than talk, but I guess I could try it.

  5. Kristen says:

    I think I have mentioned this before but Matt runs to that podcast that is music but you choose the pace. Every song is set to a specific cadence/metronome so you stay in time the entire run. No changing pace but what is the fun in that. Chi running and and the natural running styles use this technique/ pacing. The podcast he listens to is techno and I think I might shoot myself so I have not tried it.

  6. wwwmama says:

    My favorites on my weird mix are Michael Franti & Spearhead’s “Say Hey (I love you)” and Carmen McRae’s “When the Red, Red Robin Comes Bobbing Along” (on an album called Jazz for Kids). I always step up the pace when those come on. And Michael Jackson of course!

  7. Pingback: Kristen R: How Do You Break Down the Walls on Race Day? | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

