KHP – Balance or Lack there of!

Today as I woke up with my head still floating from congestion and a medicinal fog that I have been living with all week, I rolled over to assess how I really felt.  Compared to the previous morning I felt fabulous, the pain in my sinuses had subsided and my energy seemed to be brimming even though the medicine had not worn off.  I was so glad that we had called babysitters into help out this week so I could work during the daytime hours.  After two sleepless nights staying up with LP as she battled this cold my body succumbed.  It was not just staying up with LP that crushed my immune system but the various late night and early mornings trying to get all my deadlines met.  I am still trying to catch backup from months of trying to freelance, train, teach, take classes, and manage the house and family while attempting to make a quality piece of art.

Today I woke up feeling energized as I had a photo job for Best Line Equipment.  This is the company my husband works for but he played no role in getting me this job.  It was a great day working with a young marketing director, hopping on high reach forklifts, playing with excavators and rolling around on the ground looking for the best perspective shot.  The shot itself was a technical nightmare, arranging huge pieces of equipment so all the branding could be viewed along with the signage on the building.  This shot made me eat my words so many times, as we broke many of my photo rules.  “We should only shoot architecture during dusk and dawn”.  Well the building is has metal siding and turns into a giant reflector in the morning and evening.  So guess when we did our shoot?? 12:00pm.  Yep, you photo nerds that are out there, you heart just stopped and your choking.  Well, it looks darn good.  I scouted this location for week and honestly it was the best light for the equipment and building combination.  I hate eating my words.

KHP - I can't use the actually photos I shot today until the marketing director approves them but this will give you an idea what I was dealing with.  This is a 7:30am scouting shot.  Polarizing lens on and still massive glare from the building.

KHP – I can’t use the actually photos I shot today until the marketing director approves them but this will give you an idea what I was dealing with. This is a 7:30am scouting shot. Polarizing lens on and still massive glare from the building.

Well here are a few more.  “The bugs eye view will never work with the equipment sitting in front of the building.  It will simply block out the whole building.”  The marketing director agreed but we both were willing to try it for the designer.  Yep, it looked awesome.  More words that I need to try and stomach.

What I loved about today is it reminded me of two things. Why I am trying so hard and sacrificing so much and every time I go out to shoot, draw, paint or carve I am learning something new.  For the past few years my life has been out of balance.  People say I am doing too much or they just act in aw of what I juggle but mostly I think they believe I am insane.  Many times I question it myself, when will it end, will it ever get better or is this just my reality?  What I know now is I can’t stop pushing. I have sacrificed too much and had too many years dedicated to being excellent at my job.  The only way that I can be fulfilled is to continue on this path.  I will sleep again. I will have more balance again.  It is starting to happen.  I am getting so many opportunities and I need to give each of them my all.

KHP - Another shot from my scouting.  This one is kind of fun.

KHP – Another shot from my scouting. This one is kind of fun.

My cold brought me down this week and it made me doubt my path.  I am so glad that I ended the week with an excellent photo shoot with more work to come from two excellent companies and individuals asking for work.  I see my vision come to reality and it is so exciting.  It has taken me almost 20 years to realize that I can do this.  Great things don’t come without sacrifice and I am so appreciative of the support I have around me to see this through.

KHP Art Below

KHP - I thought you might want to look at something a little prettier before you leave:)

KHP – I thought you might want to look at something a little prettier before you leave:)

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Balance or Lack there of!

  1. Kristen R. says:

    I’m happy to see you freelancing — and teaching and being an awesome mom. You are balancing it all well, some days are just more hectic than others. Even with a cold, you make it look good!

  2. wwwmama says:

    Your work is terrific. No wonder people are hiring you left and right!

Leave a Reply

