KHP – Changing Focus

KHP - The beginning of another illustration and it has nothing to do with TREES!!

KHP – The beginning of another illustration and it has nothing to do with TREES!!

This past week has been very productive on some fronts and very, very, hard on others.  I have not run in over a week due to a horrible sinus infection.  I am so ready to be able to breath again, so ready to feel like myself with my energy back.  LP was the first to get this cold and after nursing her through a few sleepless night I succumbed.  I can’t tell you how much it has pained me to be off my schedule.  I feel anxious every time I look at my running log or walk past my running shoes.  I have been so strict and scheduled and this cold turned sinus infection has made me question my dedication.  My plan is to try a short run tomorrow and see how I feel.  I have been able to keep up with my yoga practice but the lack of running is frustrating.  My girls and I have struggled through a difficult year of colds and flu. We were not happy to feel its return.

In many ways last week was a gift.  I truly think my body needed a rest, I needed to sleep and I needed to plow ahead on some of my work.  I had an excellent week with good responses from my design and photography clients.  It was great to have the work but it was even better to know they felt it was quality and were happy with the product.  I have had a wonderful time shooting with my new lens which I plan to do more of this week.  I learned a ton from creating an email blast.  It was simple code and a fairly simple design but it was a new task with special considerations.  I am finding more and more that I love web design as it feeds my love for solving problems.  When I was in high school I looked forward to my math homework.  I enjoyed the work as it felt like a fun puzzle that triggered more activity in my brain than the other subjects.  Web Design has a similar cognitive response.

I am amazed with the work I was able to accomplish last week even while I was feeling so horrid.  I look forward to finally feeling better and hoping that my little one will be healed soon as well.  I think my legs will benefit from the time off or at least that is what I have been telling myself to stay sane.  I have decided to move away from my forest theme for a bit and work on some new subjects.  I cannot look at another juniper tree for sometime.  My focus was forced to change last week but it allowed me to reset my brain and hopefully my body.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Printmaking, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Changing Focus

  1. wwwmama says:

    I hope you feel better soon. It sounds like your body did need a rest. I used to look forward to math homework too!

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Sorry you’ve felt so bad, but I agree with Claire that your body really needed the rest. I logged a lot more shorter runs this month between races, and I think it helped me. My legs needed it, my mind needed it and it seemed to do me some good during my most recent race. I think you’ll find that your runs later this week will feel great. I hope you’re officially on the mend.

Leave a Reply

