Kristen R: Four Months of Daily Running? Check!

After four months of running daily, I can honestly say that it’s engrained in my daily routine, same as kissing my babies, washing my hair, or checking in on my friends and family via Facebook. And like these daily occurences, some of my runs are meaningful and important, while others are just part of my daily routine that I check off without a second thought.

the experienceWith each new month this year, I’ve set out a few new rules for myself along the way. One month it was no pizza and the Fab Ab challenge. Next, it was more cross training and better eating. Then, no more eating after 7 p.m. I’m sure I’m forgetting something…

This month actually brings with it change.

First, is the change in my job (I’m officially moving into that new role at work after a month or so of transitioning).

Second is change in routine that will stem from the job change (nervous!). Plus, I’m heading out on my first longish vacation of the year by going to the beach with my youngest daughter. We are joining my parents for a relaxing few days in Florida, and with that will come disruption to my daily running habit. Stay tuned…

Third, I’ve got a change to my race schedule. Not a big deal, but any runner will tell you that we can be a wee bit obsessive. So, this change is fine, but I can’t say I’m not a little twitchy from missing the race — and I’m missing it based on poor planning on my part. It happens, right? (twitch, twitch)

Updated race schedule:

  • April 7: Cherry Blossom 10-miler (CHECK!)
  • April 27: Park-to-Park Waynesboro Half Marathon (CHECK!)
  • May 4: Crossover 15K (Poor planning. No can do.)
  • June 1: Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon
  • July 4: Brandermill 7.4k
  • September 20-21: Colonial200 Relay (Might have a work conflict, but I’m really hoping I get to do this. I can’t tell you how twitchy I’ll be if I miss it.)
  • November 16: Richmond American Family Fitness Half Marathon

So, with all that, what’s my monthly challenge/change going to be for May? I have no bold moves planned, to be honest. I’m going to keep running. I’m going to keep doing the ab work until that two-minute plank doesn’t leave me grimacing. I’m going to re-resolve not to eat after 7 p.m. And, frankly, I need to do more cross-training. And speed work.

May will be a mish-mash, but I think that’s OK. I plan to run. I plan to do my neighborhood long run every weekend I am home. I plan to keep eating [fairly] well. I plan to enjoy myself at home, at work, and on vacation.

But, mostly, I plan to not over plan. I’m just going to do my thing. Come June 1, I plan to celebrate the halfway point of 2013 with my dear friend and blogging partner KHP. First, we’ll get the running out of the way with a half marathon. Then, we’ll toast to Making It Daily.

What’s your plan for May?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage. Feels good!

2013 mileage. Feels good!

KHP Art Below

KHP - I have been working on my new illustration but I thought I might share the cute face of our new family member.  Her name is Maggie and she is perfect! I am not kidding she is perfect.

KHP – I have been working on my new illustration but I thought I might share the cute face of our new family member. Her name is Maggie and she is perfect! I am not kidding she is perfect.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kristen R: Four Months of Daily Running? Check!

  1. wwwmama says:

    I actually have “mishmash” on my notes for my blog post tomorrow. Isn’t that funny? Ok, we need to officially plan a get together for the three of us. You know the planner in me needs to start now if it’s going to happen this year.

    • Kristen R. says:

      Ah, love that we are in sync with our mish-mashes. And, I agree, we need I plan something. And soon! Look for an email with criteria questions coming to you and KHP. I will take the reigns and get this party started – even if it’s a mish-mash.

  2. Kristen says:

    I need a plan because my life is a big mish-mash all the time:) I can’t wait for our run and the toast afterwards. It is going to be so special when we all get together.

Leave a Reply

