Kristen R: Has It Really Been 10 Years?

We’ve had a lot of years together, but nowhere near enough.

Yesterday, was my tenth wedding anniversary. Ten years ago, my husband and I exchanged vows in a semi-dilapidated former tobacco warehouse that, at the time, had been converted into a small art gallery with adjoining art studios.

From the outside, that building brought my mother to tears, and I really cannot blame her. It looked rough, to say the least, but inside there was just something magical about it to us. The gallery space was small, and to me, the hanging art meant it was already decorated. The floor was marked by where an old assembly line once stood for moving the tobacco, and that served as our aisle.

We turned that space into the picture perfect setting for our wedding. We made a long piece of draped fabric to flow overhead down the make-shift aisle. We rented large potted trees and strung lights over them which set the mood. We had one solo guitarist play a Beatles tune as the matron of honor and best man walked down to the front. Then, my dad and I walked together, arm in arm, down the aisle.

Later, we ate, toasted and danced. Then, after our guests said their good nights and congrats, we were left with just a handful of close friends — as well as left over food. We stole bits of cake and grilled veggies left by the caterer, and looked around quite proudly at that warehouse space we had decorated and made our own.

I think that day really set the tone for what our married life would be like. We’ve made our way through the last 10 years doing things just the way we want to do them.

Husband, there’s a lot to take in: Ten years; two kids; three houses; a teeny-tiny apartment; a smattering of jobs; a stick shift; a few spirited disagreements (not necessarily with each other); some pinball machines (when did that happen?); the stomach flu; a walk-in closet; a handmade garage;  near and dear family whom have passed;  sink repairs; beans and noodles; free throw champions; lots of laundry; pets lost and gained  — including too many fish to count; hurricanes and power outages (who ever thought they would matter?); soft tickles; fake snakes; West Virginia climbing trips; practical jokes; good meals; traditions, old and new; fresh, clean sheets; many, many laughs and a few tears; more cranberries than I ever thought possible; breakfast with real bacon; poopy diapers; little girls with little curls; catching a thousand tiny fish; road trips; Hollywood rummy (how much do I owe you?); patience; understanding; compassion; sympathy; mutual respect; a whole lotta love; bad singing; good dancing; and that one phase where you made too much bread pudding.

It’s been a great ride and I cannot wait to see where we go next.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

May mileage has been low. I've got one more week of low miles (heading for vacation soon), then I'll  pick things back up. Got another half marathon less than a month away. Need to keep up with the routine!

May mileage has been low. I’ve got one more week of low miles (heading for vacation soon), then I’ll pick things back up. Got another half marathon less than a month away. Need to keep up with the routine!

KHP Art Below

KHP - At the beginning:)

KHP – At the beginning:)

KHP - What I love about these photos is that it looks like I am capturing a gentle moment which I was.  I also was capturing them being smart alecks and playing games.:) Perfect

KHP – What I love about these photos is that it looks like I am capturing a gentle moment which I was. I also was capturing them being smart alecks and playing games.:) Perfect

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Relationships, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kristen R: Has It Really Been 10 Years?

  1. Kristen says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! I hope you had a wonderful celebration last night. I know the next decades to come will be equally amazing. I think this is the longest that I have ever seen his hair:) Love you guys. This was a wonderful tribute to a rich, healthy and fun relationship. You are both so lucky to have one another.

  2. wwwmama says:

    What great photos! Oh, I remember how lovely, lovely, lovely your wedding was. I was so entranced by that space and how beautiful you made it. It had such character. The whole event was so perfect. I can’t believe it’s been 10 years! Congratulations, sister mine!

  3. lehorse says:

    Hiya just seen this congrats on 10 years 🙂

Leave a Reply

