KHP – The Tick

KHP - The Tick

KHP – The Tick

This week was another revelation week for me.  I have mentioned having a horrible sinus infection for the past few weeks.  I have not harped on it or mentioned it very much but it has been killing my training.  I have not been getting in the miles that I would like because I simply cannot breathe.  I was determined that it would go away on its own but finally I gave up and went into the doctor.  The reason why I finally succumbed had little to do with my snotty nose, coated lungs and asthma symptoms when exercising.  No, it had more to do with the fact that I found two little friends on my scalp.  I use the word friends loosely, more accurately little demon bastard that make my skin ripple and my stomach churn just thinking about them.  Ticks, they plague my life, I have had numerous run-ins with these disease-ridden insects more than I care to think about.

Thursday afternoon I went out to shoot some pictures of a spring on the way to LP’s school.  I pulled over on the side of the road and walked through 50 yards of over-growth to get to the stream.  In this short little jaunt I picked up my new buddies.  Friday I found them and I had a slight melt down freak out which turned into some OCD like inspecting and cleaning of all the humans and animals in the house. Then there was a tad bit of mentally induced nausea, which happens to me more than most folks.  My husband blames it on my vivid imagination and the ability to render ridiculous images in my head with perfect clarity. This was all followed by a trip to the doctors for some prophylactic antibiotics and answers regarding the snot monster that has been camped out.

The doctor looked at my tick bites to find that I had gotten all of my buddies out and there was very little redness or swelling.  She then checked out my nose and found that I do not have a sinus infection. I have serious seasonal allergies and my nose was swollen shut.  No wonder I have had difficulty breathing when out for a quick jaunt around the neighborhood.  The doctor sent me home with antibiotics and allergy medication.  She explained it could take up to 2 weeks for it to take any real effect.  I went home and immediately took my medication and within an hour I was breathing better.  I was furious at myself for being so stubborn and forcing myself to endure such discomfort when all I needed a two little squirts of allergy meds to breathe normally (well better at least). I am not sure if the medication has taken its full effect yet as my runs are better but much more labored than during the colder months.

I am glad I was able to find my passengers early enough to treat the issues again. I am thrilled to be able to breathe fairly normally again.  I am trying to figure out how to approach my spring and fall training now that I know this will continue to be an issue.  Any advice on training with severe seasonal allergies? I need some tips! Stay safe and tick free during your activities this summer. I will be heading to local outdoor store and buying all their stock of Deet!

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Photography, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to KHP – The Tick

  1. wwwmama says:

    I hate ticks with a passion. My allergies have been steadily worsening for the last few days, and today I had to break down and take some meds. The worst is that Free is showing signs of the same thing. I’m glad you got some relief and hope it continues!

    • khpixler says:

      LP has really bad allergies and PP is starting to show signs too. Matt just found out his deathly allergic to shell fish and I am mildly allergic. Now my itchy eyes has turned into swollen shut nasal passages. Argh! No wonder we were all so sick this year. I guess now we know.

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Best advice is to take the meds. They helps by leaps and bounds. Go on a few slow runs to test how you do on them, but I know Suzie’s been taking stuff forever and probably couldn’t run without her allergy meds at this point. Sorry you’re having bad allergies, though. Also, HATE the ticks. Ick! (But great graphic!)

Leave a Reply

