Kristen R: The (Un)planned Week in Review

In keeping with my theme this week, I decided to finish out by sharing how the rest of my running plan went.

Let’s see, how should I put this: Fail? Maybe. Unsuccessful? No, because I did run all week. Hmm. Let’s just say, the outcome didn’t exactly follow the plan, even after I wrote about the planning and the running.

Here’s how the second half went:

  • Thursday: I planned a 5-miler, but my 3-year-old had different plans. She decided that our qualilty time together before my run (i.e. her bedtime) should be spent finding new ways to stay awake. You know the drill: sitting on the potty; feeling really, really thirsty; questioning “unusual” noises; asking about the cats; needing more covers, then not needing more covers; being too hot; being too cold; wanting a snack; asking about Daddy; pondering tomorrow’s breakfast; searching for a stuffed animal she hasn’t slept with for months; wanting me to go; wanting me to stay; and, finally, splitting an atom before drifting off to dreamland. By the time she feel asleep it was nearing 9 p.m., so I squeezed in just over 3 miles and made a mental note to give up trying to run on the nights when I put the kids to bed. Hello, 4:30 a.m. I’m ba-ack… I plan to run in the wee-early mornings on those days. Sigh.
  • Friday: I planned to run a mile and did. Just a quickie “rest” run to prep for Saturday’s long run the next morning.
  • Saturday: I wanted to run between 7 and 8 miles and I did. However, I opted for a nice, coffee-filled lazy morning — I mean it was raining, so I HAD to be lazy with my family. Instead, I  ran in the afternoon. Honestly, I felt sluggish all week. New job, tweaked back, and general fatigue left me trying to procrastinate this run and that’s what I did. But I finally got out there. It was the longest run I’ve done since my half marathon at the end of April (May mileage has been low, to say the least). It was also my first humid run of the year.

You know that dream where you’re trying to run away from something, and you just can’t? You feel weighed down or like something is pulling you — just an overall heaviness?  That’s what it’s like to run in humidity. And it’s just going to get worse when the Richmond, Virginia summer heat kicks in. But, I’ve run in it before. I can take it.

So, here’s what I’m not going to do: I’m not going to plan my runs for this week. I am going to run every day — and I’ve seemed to do that successfully for the last 139 days. I’m going to get some quality runs in, and do another long-ish one next weekend. Then more of the same for the following week which will lead me to my next race day in Virginia wine country.

This race is a good one: It includes a two-night get-away with my husband.

I’m excited for the trip: It’s a belated anniversary trip for us, plus a mini-reunion with one of my blog partners, KHP and her husband Matt. The run is just an excuse to gather with my old friends. We’ll knock out the run, then enjoy each other’s company over good food and nice wine.

I look forward to many stories being told, Kristen’s happy smile, and Matt’s great laugh. Oh, and the half marathon. That’s Saturday. On Sunday, I plan to sleep late (at least until 7 a.m.!) with my husband, then enjoy an uninterrupted cup of coffee (or two) in bed before we venture out for a big breakfast and finally drive home.

Is that too much planning?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - This gem was found with many other's on a photo  shoot this weekend.  I will update on Tuesday:)

KHP – This gem was found with many other’s on a photo shoot this weekend. I will update on Tuesday:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Motherhood, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kristen R: The (Un)planned Week in Review

  1. wwwmama says:

    Congrats on finishing the long run! I don’t know how you motivate to do those. I’m impressed!

  2. lehorse says:

    Arghhhh nothing worse than running when it is humid I will take rain everyday of the week, hmmm maybe better than snow though ok second worse thing is running when its humid 🙂 I would say your week was a resounding success you managed to work your running into your life without it taking over not easily done, so well done.

    • Kristen R. says:

      Thanks. I’ve decided I was easing back in after vacation. 🙂 Agree about snow first, humidity second. It gets very, very humid in Virginia. I’ve got to get mentally ready for it!

  3. khpixler says:

    I am hoping our race will be fairly nice. It has not been so bad up here until today but it is supposed to cool down again. It is 1.5 hours away so this might have not baring on our race conditions but I am hoping. I can’t wait to see you and catch up. It is going to be a great weekend!!

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: December Reflections No. 2 – The Art of Planning Your Runs | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

