KHP – Treasures from the Past

I went out Saturday morning to meet with a client at her home. I will be taking portraits of her family next Saturday morning. I went out to scout the location to help me prepare for the shoot. As she is well aware of my style of shooting, she generously allowed me to roam on her 20 acres to take pictures. I hope to duplicate this activity after our shoot this coming weekend.

There family lives on a beautiful wooded property that is nestled up against to a state park and is surrounded by farmland. I pulled down their drive which winded through the trees. The morning was cloudy, the temperature was comfortable, almost cool but it was so humid the sky seemed as if it could mist. As I approached their home I saw a beautiful barn seated next a pristine log cabin. The grounds were immaculately cared for and the scene is simply stunning.

I was thrilled to scout the location and see their beautiful home. After we were done with our business of preparing for the following week, S, the owner, took me down to an area of the property where there were a few old barns to explore. She gave me a tour and hopped in her truck to go to work.

I spent a long morning walking carefully through the property and cautiously peaking my head inside the barns to find time standing still. I was in heaven as I found leather ice skates hanging from the rafters, old tires, broken glass, crutches, mallets, pencil sharpens, gloves, and screws, all projects and moments left for me to try and pull a story out. All these little clues of what their lives may have been like. It was such a rich experience, I took my time setting up my tripod, setting up reflectors but never disturbing the actual composition that was left for me to find. I simply wanted to document the treasures left from the past.

The gorgeous private drive leading up to the main house.  The building on the left is a functional and lovely barn.

The gorgeous private drive leading up to the main house. The building on the left is a functional and lovely barn.

This barn was closed up and I did not try venture inside.  Apparently there are critter families living inside a few of them.  I did not want to disturb a raccoon family.

This barn was closed up and I did not try venture inside. Apparently there are critter families living inside a few of them. I did not want to disturb a raccoon family.

How many pencils did this sharpener grind down to a perfect pointed tip?

How many pencils did this sharpener grind down to a perfect pointed tip?

One of the barns that were falling apart, this one was full of gems.  Little compositions of frozen moments from a time past.

One of the barns that were falling apart, this one was full of gems. Little compositions of frozen moments from a time past.

The stove with animal prints scrapping off the dust and dirt that covers the contents of the barn .  The stove fallen open with leaves spilling out.

The stove with animal prints scrapping off the dust and dirt that covers the contents of the barn . The stove fallen open with leaves spilling out.

A little composition on the stove.

A little composition on the stove.

The box of bolts a project frozen in time.

The box of bolts a project frozen in time.

The color version of the bolts laying on the old stove.

The color version of the bolts laying on the old stove.

These skates were just hanging in rusting on the side of the barn.  Another moment frozen in time.

These skates were just hanging in rusting on the side of the barn. Another moment frozen in time.

I don't know which version I like better color or black and white.  They are just beautiful.

I don’t know which version I like better color or black and white. They are just beautiful.

KHP - Inside one of the old barns.  This barn had a opening in the side so I could peak in.

KHP – Inside one of the old barns. This barn had a opening in the side so I could peak in.

More textures.

More textures.

The cart is covered in poison ivy and probably infested with ticks.  I really do love being in the woods as much as complain about the hazards:)

The cart is covered in poison ivy and probably infested with ticks. I really do love being in the woods as much as complain about the hazards:)

Part of a cart that was disintegrating under heavy canopy in the woods.

Part of a cart that was disintegrating under heavy canopy in the woods.

The little creepy shed tucked away near a clearing.  Just before I got into position a huge buck ran behind this structure.  I am not sure if I would have captured it through the dense growth.

The little creepy shed tucked away near a clearing. Just before I got into position a huge buck ran behind this structure. I am not sure if I would have captured it through the dense growth.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Kristen P., Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Treasures from the Past

  1. wwwmama says:

    so cool! This reminds me of so many adventures from childhood exploring abandoned sites. No ice skates in Ireland though!

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Would love to have explored that with you!

Leave a Reply

