KHP – Quick Progress Report

Just another day in PA.

Just another day in PA.

I believe KR mentioned the editor and writer in her hated the unfocused post. Well I am going to drop a quick conglomerate of updates on you. I just need to get a few things out to update on my progress.

Today was my first day teaching of the summer semester. I just finished up grades from Spring with just enough time to restructure my courses for a twelve week span and devise the syllabi. I have finally finished up two big freelance projects just to start a couple more. I am heading back out to the beautiful acres of barn and forest this weekend. I will also be shooting a new location for my portfolio Sunday morning. In the mix of all this wonderful work, my oldest graduated from preschool and both girls have their end of the year dance recital this weekend. It has been a busy emotional week.

I am trying to get geared up for next weekend and my first big race of the year. I can’t wait to hang out with KR and her wonderful husband. I can’t help just wanting to skip over the race as quickly as possible so we can catch up, drink wine and giggle and laugh together.

I have been struggling with my training since the weather has changed. I feel as if I have taken 3 steps forward and 2 steps back. My allergies are under control now that I have had a full two weeks on the medication. I am not breathing as well but I am not a snot monster either. I am seeing progress in learning more and more about the current state of my body and how to work around the obstacles that arise.

I had another epiphany moment when I went in to talk to Leigh Cordell the owner of Healthy Living Workshop. She and I are going to barter training for design work. I sat down with her to talk about her goals and needs for the shop. After we discussed her goals she asked about my fitness goals. After listening to myself explain my current training vs. my athletic goals I realized that they were not aligned. I have not been doing enough cross training or scheduling tempo runs, mile repeats or working the upper body as I should. I have been going through the motions of putting miles in, doing yoga and some core work. During the summer months I will focus more on cross training to build strength in hopes this will create a more comfortable running experience once the weather is cooler again. Leigh confirmed that I need to build more muscle and step up my workouts. This is easier said than done but with a push from the outside I may just be able to accomplish it.

I am happy to say that I have made it 2 weeks without drinking coffee. Shockingly it has not been that difficult. I started drinking green tea instead of coffee but there are morning where I have skipped it all together. My next big nutritional goal is to eliminate sugar and processed food all together. I feel fantastic just giving up coffee and reducing my caffeine, I hope I can turn the switch on sugar as well.

I am not quite happy with the performance artistically or athletically but in the grand scheme of things I am thrilled. I am able to juggle all of my work, the family, and make time everyday to make art and workout. I am making healthier choices all the time and I am managing stress more easily. My business is growing and I can’t wait where that is going. I just need to keep pushing forward and reaching out for advise and support. Got any??

 The storm was just over the mountains.  I ended up having a very stressful ride home from work in a heavy downpour.

The storm was just over the mountains. I ended up having a very stressful ride home from work in a heavy downpour.

This street runs parallel to the river.  I was trying to capture the evening rush hour next to the serenity of the river.

This street runs parallel to the river. I was trying to capture the evening rush hour next to the serenity of the river.

The river is full of these little islands.

The river is full of these little islands.

The Susquehanna River at dusk before a storm.

The Susquehanna River at dusk before a storm.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to KHP – Quick Progress Report

  1. wwwmama says:

    It’s probably a typo, but I LOVE that you said you were going to “devise” your syllabus. As a teacher, it strikes me as a perfect way to describe it. You are busy!!!!! How do you do it? I am, as always, impressed.

  2. khpixler says:

    LOL! That was not a typo. Hehe, you know I am the queen of typos but that was not. I think my schedule is actually going to let up a little but fall and spring have been spastic. You are just as busy and still making time to save Robin’s on the side of the road. Unbelievable:)))

  3. wwwmama says:

    You need a break! And running a half-marathon doesn’t count! (but the wine afterwards will be well worth it.) I’ll be missing you ladies…have fun!

    • Kristen R. says:

      We will be missing you, Claire! Would love to share some wine and laughs.

      Kristen, these shots are great! And, like Claire, I am in awe of you balancing so much. Your topics are very serendipitous. I plan to talk about my cross training plan for the next couple of months — and diet. Stay tuned!

  4. khpixler says:

    It won’t be the same without Claire. I wish she could be there but more to look forward to on our gathering. I am really interested in cross training plan. I will let you know what I get from Leigh when we start. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Kristen R: The Next Step | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

