Kristen R: The Next Step

Ask yourself if what you’re doing today is getting you closer to where you want to be tomorrow.

For me, the answer to that question  is a resounding “no.” That’s why reading KHP’s mention of her next set of goals was timed quite well. I have similar goals planned for June as far as my running goes. Well, maybe not my running, but all the things I should be doing to improve my running.

June will be a busy month with a lot of schedule changes — and all good ones, I should add. My Bean will finish the first grade mid-month, so we’ll enter into summertime mode here at my house. This means longer days, tired kids, outdoor grilling and many a meal, I hope, eaten on our deck. We have a family vacation planned, too. It’s really just a few days away at the beach, but it will nice for all four of us to get away together. And, after June 1, I won’t have any big races coming up for a while, so I plan to focus on more cross training (sound familiar, KHP?).

Here’s the plan:

  • Daily Running: I plan to run a 5k on most days. I’ll still reserve Saturday or Sunday for my long run, but I’ll keep that to 6-8 miles — and right now I’m leaning toward 6. The other runs will be kept shorter (3-5 miles) and I’ll focus on something for each run — tempo, pace, sprints, hills, etc.
  • Cross Training: I’ve found some new workouts on Pinterest that I’m going to add into my routine. I’m plan to tackle those four days a week. Although I’ve pinned several, I’m leaning toward this one because it seems like a good mix and, frankly, it’s the kind of workout I should have been doing all along.
  • Diet: June is the month I’m going to kick a lot of processed food to the curb. I’ve done it here and there before, but then I’ve fallen back into bad habits, so this time it’s the real deal. Less processed stuff, more real foods (fruits, veggies, lean protein). This is where I’ll make the most headway on dropping some stubborn pounds.

I think I’m going to use the month of June to post workout logs and food diaries (with photos) to help keep me on track. I tried that before with another blogger and daily runner, but the timing was bad and the food logs got lost in the mix of all the other things I wanted to write about. If I commit to posting it all, I can hold myself accountable. Boring for you, but helpful for me. Tips will be welcome.

The only exceptions to what’s above will be my weekend away at the Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon (just a week away!) and during my family vacation. I’ll still continue making my runs daily, but I might slack on the cross training and even have some food splurges. What?  It’s vacation!

So, do you have any tips to share for good cross training for runners or a diet that eliminates most processed foods? Please share.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

I've logged low miles this month, but between vacation and a new job, I'm going to cut myself a little slack -- but only this once!

I’ve logged low miles this month, but between vacation and a new job, I’m going to cut myself a little slack — but only this once!

KHP Art Below

KHP - Back out to S's property to take family portraits.  She let me roam the property again to explore!

KHP – Back out to S’s property to take family portraits. She let me roam the property again to explore!

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: The Next Step

  1. khpixler says:

    Right there with you. It seems like we are staying in sync through all of this.

    • Kristen R. says:

      I agree. It so easy in my mind to give all the junk up, but it’s harder to do when you’re surrounded by it. We’ll see how it goes. The cross training will be good.

  2. Pingback: Kristen R: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do | Making It Daily

  3. Pingback: Kristen R: Almost Ready to Start June Even Though It’s June | Making It Daily

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: An open letter to my blogging partners | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

