KHP – 2 barns in 24 hours and a Thank You

A few weeks ago I posted on my companies Facebook page that I would like to shoot an old rustic barn for my portfolio. I explained that I wanted a barn that was falling apart and covered in vines. I had two people respond. S and Sara offered to allow me to come to their properties and roam around to photograph. I ended up going out to S’s property twice. She hired me to take some family portraits and I was out one day to scout the location and another day for the actual photo shoot. On both occasions she allowed me to roam her 20 acres and pop my head into old sheds and barns to find time standing still.

Sara, offered to allow me to come out to do portfolio work on her barn. She lives in a small town nestled up against the mountains. Her home sits on the edge of town looking out a pasture and a lovely little cemetery. The barn and chicken coop sit behind her house with a tiny stream separating the house and the barn. The barn was not really safe to walk through but I found so many beautiful compositions around the outside it did not leave me wanting. Sara allowed me to come early on Sunday morning on a holiday weekend to boot.

This weekend was a busy one with dance recital for toddlers lasting to 11:00 pm, a farmer’s market opening, a birthday party and portrait photo shoots but I managed to get to both locations in less than 24 hours. I am so thankful for the generosity of S and Sara to allow me to come and take pictures on their property knowing this was only for my portfolio. I hope that each of them will enjoy one of my prints from the images that I shot. I certainly got a ton of lovely work from their willingness to help. I am so thankful for the wonderful community that I live in and I the gorgeous place that I can call home. The longer I live here the more beautiful it is to me and I know it is the hearts of the people that I live amongst that saturate the scenery. Thank you!!

The old windows opened letting you glimpse into the old barn.

The old windows opened letting you glimpse into the old barn.

This photo was a happy accident but one that would not have occurred unless I was using my tripod.  I was set up on my tripod waiting for breaks in wind.  I was using a 1 second exposure due to the early morning light.  The wind rustled through the rose bush but my focal point was not effect my the motion.

This photo was a happy accident but one that would not have occurred unless I was using my tripod. I was set up on my tripod waiting for breaks in wind. I was using a 1 second exposure due to the early morning light. The wind rustled through the rose bush but my focal point was not effect my the motion.

Sara's barn in the morning light. A purposeful lens flare cutting through the image.  I use this technique in lifestyle and portfolio shots never in product work.  Lens flare makes printing unpredictable, desaturates color and reduces contrast.

Sara’s barn in the morning light. A purposeful lens flare cutting through the image. I use this technique in lifestyle and portfolio shots never in product work. Lens flare makes printing unpredictable, desaturates color and reduces contrast.

This shows the awesome tree growing out of the back of the Sara's barn.

This shows the awesome tree growing out of the back of the Sara’s barn.

KHP - I love the chicken cop and all its textures.

KHP – I love the chicken cop and all its textures.

KHP - Sara's barn, the new location.

KHP – Sara’s barn, the new location.

From S's 20 acre property.  I ventured in a new barn and found life standing still.  Cobwebs and all I love it.

From S’s 20 acre property. I ventured in a new barn and found life standing still. Cobwebs and all I love it.

The chain.

The chain.

KHP - Belt sander??

KHP – Belt sander??

 A happy accident in the wind. I was using my tripod.  I think a lot of hobby photographers skip bringing their tripods on shoots.  Buy one that you like and make sure it is close by.  Never skimp on the ISO so you can avoid caring your tripod.  Commercial and professional photographers always have them available.   Monopods are always an option.

A happy accident in the wind. I was using my tripod. I think a lot of hobby photographers skip bringing their tripods on shoots. Buy one that you like and make sure it is close by. Never skimp on the ISO so you can avoid caring your tripod. Commercial and professional photographers always have them available. Monopods are always an option.

Sunlight on the grass.

Sunlight on the grass.

Another barn on S's property.

Another barn on S’s property.

The lighting was so nice on the barn this morning.

The lighting was so nice on the barn this morning.

A mallet I neglected to properly photograph the last time I shot in this barn.

A mallet I neglected to properly photograph the last time I shot in this barn.

This looks like some kind of trap but I am not 100% sure.  It caught my eye both times I was out there.

This looks like some kind of trap but I am not 100% sure. It caught my eye both times I was out there.

This is from Sara's barn. I love looking into the windows to grab a glimpse of the inside.

This is from Sara’s barn. I love looking into the windows to grab a glimpse of the inside.

Back out to S's property to take family portraits.  She let me roam the property again to explore!

Back out to S’s property to take family portraits. She let me roam the property again to explore!

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to KHP – 2 barns in 24 hours and a Thank You

  1. wwwmama says:

    Wow. What a feast for the eyes. I love this: “saturate the scenery”

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Great shots! I would love to explore there, too. Whenever I see old structures like this, I want to pull over and explore inside. I know you had fun — and your images are really beautiful.

  3. lehorse says:

    Some great shots and considering how much I hate spiders I love the chain and webs pic

  4. khpixler says:

    Thank you.
    K- I wish you were there peaking in with me too. There was so much there to find. I have always wanted to look in these old places too and it was so cool being able to finally do it.
    Fall is the time for big spiders around here and I don’t think I would want to be going through in there in October:) I just love what they leave behind except when I am leading on a trail run in the morning. Yuck!

Leave a Reply

