KHP – The Run to Come

I was running on our treadmill tonight when it hit me that I would be racing a half marathon on Saturday. This should not be a stress in my life as it is a race distance I have covered many times before. This is not my first half marathon and it certainly will not be my last. As I sweat out a few sweaty miles on our treadmill in the garage I began thinking of the race conditions for Saturday. I was trying to be optimistic but as the heat began to take its toll on my short 5k run I felt the negativity creep in.

I will be running the Virginia Wine Country Half Marathon on Saturday with KR. I am so excited about this weekend which I have been looking forward to for months. I can’t wait to catch up with KR and her hubby (although we both will be missing Claire). I imagine us running along a beautiful country road chatting comfortably while we pass pretty vineyards and green rolling hills on cool spring morning. Well the chatting and comfort might need to wait to later in the day after we recover from the run. The race will be held in Purcellville, VA. The weather for Saturday in that area will reach into the 90’s with 0 percent chance of rain. These are not the optimum conditions for my running. I am cold weather runner and despise training in the heat. My training has seen lower mileage than I anticipated due to illness, a chronic hip injury and seasonal allergies but it has been consistent. To say the least my confidence is low going into this event.  Looking back a couple months into March, my confidence was high, my body felt fabulous and I was ready to tackle an distance at any speed.  I wish I was feeling closer to that place and not a broken down snot machine:)

I have been so focused on my girls and their end of the year events, my summer semester starting while finishing up the spring semester, I did not have a chance to mentally prepare for the coming weekend. Perhaps the busy schedule served as a healthy distraction rather than a conflict of interest. I have my allergies under control, my hip pain is minor on most days and I will get to see KR along the route. What more could a girl ask for? Wine, chatting with good friends in the middle of Virginia’s beautiful countryside, my camera near by to document and a sense of accomplishment, all of this combined into a perfect weekend no matter the race conditions.

Next time you will hear from me, it will be after the event.  I know I will have great stories and photos to share.  For now, it is time to drink lots of water, eat healthy food, and dig out my summer weather running outfits for the race.  Gotta run!

KHP Art Below

More clover.

More clover.

Giant clover in the field in the back.

Giant clover in the field in the back.

This bee was pollen drunk.  I was using my wide angle and was right on top of the bee.  He did not seem to care.

This bee was pollen drunk. I was using my wide angle and was right on top of the bee. He did not seem to care.

Thistle glowing in the evening light.

Thistle glowing in the evening light.

I see tons of photographers do this and I decided after 20 years I should join in.

I see tons of photographers do this and I decided after 20 years I should join in.

Thistle

Thistle

I almost did not take this shot.  It was something that caught my eye as odd but I could not imagine the final image.  I am so happy I captured it.

I almost did not take this shot. It was something that caught my eye as odd but I could not imagine the final image. I am so happy I captured it.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to KHP – The Run to Come

  1. Kristen R. says:

    It will be warm, but we will have a great time! I decided I used up all my whining about winter weather, so I’ve got to suck it and deal with the heat. My only goal for this race is to enjoy the scenery, maybe take some pics along the course, and finish with a smile. I’m not focused on time, and I think we’ll have a great experience out there. Can’t wait!!

  2. wwwmama says:

    You guys will be great! Don’t focus on time but on each other. I’ll be amazed that you can finish it. I’m not sure I could!

Leave a Reply

