KHP – Race Against Poverty 5K

Tonight I am doing another quick post. I was shooting a night time 5K race in downtown Chambersburg. The Race Against Poverty is a local event that helps fight poverty in our community. I was so proud of how many folks came out to run this race. I was nervous all day collecting rain gear and umbrella’s to prepare for the horrid weather from Tropical Storm Andrea. Our area did not feel the full force of the storm and our many local farmers were thrilled for the rain. The runners were probably happy for the cool weather but the three photographers were all having a fit trying to put together a rig that would keep our prized possessions safe. Luckily the rain stopped just in time for the race to begin and the runners and walkers had a lovely evening race through the town.

I originally signed up to run this race. I was approached by one of the race directors to see if I would volunteer to shoot at the event. Of course I jumped at the chance to help out. All of the photographers are donating their time, expertise and profits from any sales we make from the race photos. The race directors don’t know of our plan. They think we are donating our time and photos for the website. They don’t realize we plan to donate our sales as well. I doubt they will read this post so it won’t spoil the surprise:)

On a less positive note, I have been having a bit of a low day. When I saw the runners racing through in record times, I had a pang of disappointment and yes jealousy. I have had a rough time running lately but I have been training hard. I could have used a great race and ego boost rather than the constant strain and challenges I seem to face in my efforts. I was so proud of the local runners and of my friends who just started running and had fantastic times. It did leave me feeling like I will never improve and I will always be left in the dust, literally. I know things will perk back up and I will start seeing my times improve again but I hope it happens soon. Without being poetic about it, it is bumming me out.

I will let all of this go as it is just a fleeting feeling on a rainy day after a very difficult week. I should be focusing on the good things I did today but I am wrapping myself up in a bruised ego blanket. I have found the best thing to do is go sleep on that blanket and my perspective will change. Good night!

KHP - This is about a half mile into the race.  The runners are coming through the center square of Chambersburg.

KHP – This is about a half mile into the race. The runners are coming through the center square of Chambersburg.

KHP - Out front in the beginning and the end.  These guys were flying! Everyone had a very fast race and a lot of PR's.  The course was fairly flat but enough elevation change to use different muscle groups and the weather was perfect.  It was cool and cloudy at 8:00.  The rain stopped just in time for the event!

KHP – Out front in the beginning and the end. These guys were flying! Everyone had a very fast race and a lot of PR’s. The course was fairly flat but enough elevation change to use different muscle groups and the weather was perfect. It was cool and cloudy at 8:00. The rain stopped just in time for the event!

The walkers started first so while I was waiting for them to come back through I found my favorite wall and stairwell downtown.

The walkers started first so while I was waiting for them to come back through I found my favorite wall and stairwell downtown.

This old train sits on the street in front of the custard shop.  The texture in this is amazing.

This old train sits on the street in front of the custard shop. The texture in this is amazing.

On the way to my second location on the course I saw this.  As soon as I peeked my head through the trees I saw this abstraction in black and white. This is exactly what I wanted from this composition.  I love it.

On the way to my second location on the course I saw this. As soon as I peeked my head through the trees I saw this abstraction in black and white. This is exactly what I wanted from this composition. I love it.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Kristen P., Photography, Running, Self-Care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Race Against Poverty 5K

  1. Kristen R. says:

    You’ll bounce back. Focus on the new things you’re doing, like more cross training. Next thing you know, your running will be much improved — as will your motivation. That’s my plan this month, too.

  2. wwwmama says:

    I’m sorry you’re feeling low. It’ll be better soon. I do love the image of a “bruised ego blanket” though…

Leave a Reply

