KHP – Fairies Part 1 – Argh

I leave you with just a couple of images. I am struggling with my new series of Fairies and Giants. I need to get in a very whimsical mood quickly. In a little over a month I start teaching my first of two children’s art summer camps at the art council. My class is already full. This means that I will have a team of little artist propped in front of me ready to learn and excited for new and different projects. I have been struggling with coming up with age appropriate projects and embracing my inner fairy. I have been sketching in my journal and I have been working through some boring and surface illustration on the computer.

I want a fresh perspective on this theme and it may come down to writing and mind mapping for a few days/weeks while researching and continue this type of dull practice drawing. I want this project to come out as a series of children’s drawings and perhaps a short flash animation. This will help me develop my curriculum for the week and connect with my students fantasy world. On a more personal note it will allow me to create a series of artwork for my girls. I want to make some really special illustration for their room. I want them to know I understand their internal world and their dreams. I want to create a delicate intricate series that they will spend time finding hidden details and create their own stories from each piece. I have taken my first baby step and it makes me cringe to drop the weight on that foot. I am on an uneven surface and I feel like I may fall off. This is not a strength of mine but it something I want to do so badly.

I need to figure out how to capture the whimsical fairy world but still maintain my voice as an artist. I just don’t know how Senorita Serious and Fairyland are going to mesh but I think it could be a match made in heaven if I could figure out. Here is to more from the Fairy World.

KHP - Just playing with some ideas.

KHP – Just playing with some ideas.

KHP - Fairy digital sketch 2

KHP – Fairy digital sketch 2

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Illustration, Kristen P., Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Fairies Part 1 – Argh

  1. wwwmama says:

    Wow, those images are great. The eyes of your fairy daughter are beautiful! Mind-mapping is cool–will you write more about that process in the future? I’d like to hear more.

    • Kristen R. says:

      I agree. I like these. I think anyone with a daughter knows how treasured these fairy illustrations will be to your little fairies. (Ava actually just came and said, “ooh, fairies! What is this?!). 🙂

      Ditto on the mind mapping. More, please!

Leave a Reply

