Kristen R: The Running Blues are a Pain in the … Back

I’ve been feeling a little bored. A little uninspired. And in need of a little change with my running routine. I was hoping my 5k a day goal this month would help, but that’s proven itself difficult during this busy month.

With no immediate races on the horizon, my lack of having a training plan is leaving me with the running blues.

And just when I am trying to get my head right, that low back pain that bothered me earlier this year is back with a vengeance. It’s just a sprain and, therefore, only muscular, but it’s made the last several days rough. I guess the good news is it’s nothing that should keep me down too long.

So, I’ve got a muscle relaxer in hand and my running log — with some shortie runs — is updated below. I’m hoping that by my next post I’ll be feeling more like myself. And I hope so because I miss having a good run.

No more running blues in the back side, please.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - Loving our time with our friends at the beach.  There has been little time for anything but playing.  Everyone needs a few days like this.

KHP – Loving our time with our friends at the beach. There has been little time for anything but playing. Everyone needs a few days like this.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kristen R: The Running Blues are a Pain in the … Back

  1. wwwmama says:

    I haven’t run in two weeks because of being sick and having the sore neck; the muscle relaxers aren’t helping. I miss it a lot. I finally went for a walk yesterday and it felt so good to be moving. I think lack of exercise is the source of so much negativity for me. I hope you find your rhythm soon!

    • Kristen R. says:

      It’s definitely a source if negativity for me. I miss having good runs, but i think I’m on the mend. Just taking it easy until it’s fully healed so I don’t keep irritating it. Sigh…

  2. lehorse says:

    Have clicked like but don’t like sorry you are struggling and sorry that pain is back. Don’t beat yourself up too much re 5km per day you are getting out everyday still so high 5 for that. With you having no races effecting your training plans have you thought about putting a date in the diary for a big group run with friends and family followed by a BBQ/Beers/Meal/Party etc, would give you a target and a good excuse to get everyone together. PS hope the back eases soon 🙂

    • Kristen R. says:

      I like that idea about a group run followed by a BBQ. I think once I’m feeling 100% I’ll have to plan something. As for the back, it’s something I’ve never had an issue with, but I think it’s something I’m doing with my 3-year-old — lifting here and there, stuff like that. Am taking it easy until it’s fully healed and refuse to have this happen again!

    • Kristen R. says:

      Oops! Thanks for the idea! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Kristen R: An open letter to my blogging partners | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

