KHP – 50 Years – A True and Meaningful Marathon

We celebrated my parent’s 50th anniversary today. Most of my family traveled from up and down the east coast to be together tonight. We will head to their church together tomorrow to see their marriage blessed. They have taught each of so much but their selfless actions and support have taught us how to be good spouses and parents. Here are a few images from a very special evening.

Looking out over the Potomac River as we were leaving the Bavarian Inn.  We have had many celebrations here but this was by far the most special and meaningful.

Looking out over the Potomac River as we were leaving the Bavarian Inn. We have had many celebrations here but this was by far the most special and meaningful.

13_6_22_anniversary_999_791736

My wonderful parents on their 50th anniversary. This is a real marathon of love, support and faith. They have taught me how to be a good person and care for others. They have taught me that easy does not equal better, hard work and enduring tough periods pays off, and love is not a storybook. This may seem unromantic but their love for one another has lasted through good times and bad. They have created a wonderful family. They showed us each how to truly love and care for our spouses and families.

My parents 50th anniversary.  This cake was made at the Sweet Shop Bakery, the same bakery that made my wedding cake.

My parents 50th anniversary. This cake was made at the Sweet Shop Bakery, the same bakery that made my wedding cake. It was amazing, in case you were wondering.

Almost all of my family made it for this celebration.  Some families find gatherings like this stressful but this is when I am the happiest.  Each one of these people make me so proud.  I get wrapped up in the comfort and joy of being with them.  Plus half of them are professional musicians so family gatherings equals the best free concert on the planet.

Almost all of my family made it for this celebration. Some families find gatherings like this stressful but this is when I am the happiest. Each one of these people make me so proud. I get wrapped up in the comfort and joy of being with them. Plus half of them are professional musicians so family gatherings equals the best free concert on the planet.

My younger brother, he is a kind soul and talented man.

My younger brother, he is a kind soul and talented man. He makes me happy just thinking about him.

My mom toasting my dad before the dinner.  He is the strong silent type that scared many of my friends growing up.  He is actually a big softy:)

My mom toasting my dad before the dinner. He is the strong silent type that scared many of my friends growing up. He is actually a big softy:)

There was a lot of toasting this evening.

There was a lot of toasting this evening.

Matt is getting the stink eye and "Who are you taking pictures of?"

Matt is getting the stink eye and “Who are you taking pictures of?”

No tomfoolery with the cake cutting.

No tomfoolery with the cake cutting.

One of my beautiful sisters with PP.

One of my beautiful sisters with PP.

PP and H causing trouble.

PP and H causing trouble.

Oh I just think this one looks better in color.

Oh I just think this one looks better in color.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Motherhood, Photography, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to KHP – 50 Years – A True and Meaningful Marathon

  1. Kristen R. says:

    Congrats to your parents! They are both great role models. It is true: It’s not always a storybook, but it should be a good ride most of the time. From their smiles, it looks like it has been. Great images. So nice they could celebrate this with everyone!

  2. khpixler says:

    It has been a good ride for all of us. They always emphasized the work part to keep us grounded. It was so fun to be with everyone. We are heading out for another day of fun!

  3. Emily says:

    Wonderful pictures! And happy anniversary to your folks!

    PS-this is the last day of my giveaway!

  4. Brenda says:

    Congrats to your parents!!! So nice to read wonderful comments about your family. Although you and KHR have been friends since high school, I never met your mom and dad! Wish I had!!! Please tell them Happy Anniversary from us!!!

    • khpixler says:

      I can’t believe you never met them! It just seems like all our lives are so intertwined. I will pass on your sentiments. It was such an amazing weekend.

  5. wwwmama says:

    What lovely pictures. Congratulations to your parents and all your family!

Leave a Reply

