Kristen R: Back from the Dead

Keep aiming

I cannot tell you how it good it feels to have some life back in me after last week’s illness. Thursday and Friday were rough, but I’ve perked up a little every day since. Frankly, I cannot remember feeling that run down and sick in a long time.

The strep is all cleared up — whew! — and the aches have gone with it. My back feels 10-times better; I can safely say it’s about 90 percent there. The combination of the strep and the back issues just knocked the wind out of me, and I think each was exaggerated by the other.

I have a long weekend getaway planned, so I think I’m going to play it safe by continuing my short one-mile “woggles” until I’m back home.

What’s a woggle? So glad you asked. First, it’s very attractive: Think slow motion,
waddle-y running. I’m talking snail’s pace. For me, it’s a jog-walk combo that gets me through that one-mile minimum right now.

SIDE NOTE: I wanted to call what I’ve been doing “joggling” but when I looked it up, I discovered that it’s actually a thing: A joggler jogs and juggles all at once. Seriously. It’s real.

My future in woggling.

My future in woggling.

If I feel up for something more, I’ll do it. For now, I’m playing it safe because I cannot deal with feeling that down and out again any time soon.

And I think my husband would kill me if I overdid it too quickly. (Thanks for holding down the fort, hubs!)

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - A very patient little model:)

KHP – A very patient little model:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: Back from the Dead

  1. wwwmama says:

    I love it. I woggled on Saturday morning. It was nice, actually. I hope you’re at 100% soon. You always bounce back quickly! I think I need an ab workout for July; can you help me out? Something that will get me doing it again. I’ve fallen off the wagon completely. Maybe a beach or backyard drill I can do quickly while my kid is climbing on top of me? 🙂

  2. khpixler says:

    I am so glad that joggling is an actual activity; it should be. I think I have woggling since the half. I too feel like I am off the wagon and need a new motivation. Like Claire I need one that can incorporate little people:)) I am glad you are feeling better. 100% is around the corner!!

  3. lehorse says:

    Yey to woggling I shall be employing that tactic later this week as have a marathon on Sunday …. wish me luck and so happy your back is getting better 🙂

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: An open letter to my blogging partners | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

