KHP – A Sanity Break for All

We made it home from the beach to head back out of town for my parents 50th anniversary. I knew that I would be behind on my work but these were things that the family needed to do. I needed a few days with my family without my computer looming in the background reminding me of the millions of projects I have on my plate. The girls needed sometime with a less distracted mommy and daddy, to run in the sand and jump in the waves with them. We needed and wanted to stand by my parents as they celebrated a landmark that only a lucky few reach. I was so happy to see my brothers and sisters and their families. It has been a very fun and tiring time.

When I returned from the weekend, I found out that I had two clients with freelance jobs with deadlines early this week. This was bad timing as I already have a few projects I have not finished up and my first set of grades are due to my students. On Monday, I had an interview for an artist-in-residency position (which went extremely well and I am very excited!). It is all snowballing this week. I am thrilled for the work, the opportunities and so happy that I get to work at home, make my own schedule and see my children when I want to take a break. It can be a hard schedule with late nights and sometimes I feel like I don’t do the quality of work I would if I was away from home. I certainly would expect fewer interruptions and perhaps less drama (perhaps). Sometimes I crave for those hours of focused concentrated thought but I am sure I would miss out on more of my children’s lives. In the end it is worth the extra effort now.

I have been trying to work diligently from early morning to afternoon. Taking a break in the afternoon to take the girls out to play or swim. It is summer and we all want to enjoy the season which is so beautiful in Pennsylvania. I am glad and extremely appreciative that my mother-in-law is around in the morning to take the girls out to play in the sprinkler or to set up painting projects or to sit with them to play dolls or hair salon. All this time I plug away on my projects.

Today I was tired and sick of staying up late and getting up early to work but I forced myself to work until my mother-in-law left for work. I had to stop and focus on my girls. We headed to the pool and played for the rest of the day. I feel so fortunate to have such wonderful distractions. I know without them I would have continued to plug away at my work never stopping to enjoy the important moments. My girls keep me from missing life.

Playing in the creek after a swim at the pool.  The pool we go to sits behind this pretty creek in picture.  It is a swim club in the middle of the MIchaux Forest.

Playing in the creek after a swim at the pool. The pool we go to sits behind this pretty creek in picture. It is a swim club in the middle of the MIchaux Forest.

She never wants to wear her shoes.

She never wants to wear her shoes.

This kid just cracks me up, she is always coming up with the most unusual ideas.  Every time I take her picture it is a new dramatic pose.

This kid just cracks me up, she is always coming up with the most unusual ideas. Every time I take her picture it is a new dramatic pose.

LP spotted some little fish and began a catch and release fishing expedition.  I had a hard time getting her to stop so we could go home for dinner.

LP spotted some little fish and began a catch and release fishing expedition. I had a hard time getting her to stop so we could go home for dinner.

PP throwing things and causing problems  as usual.

PP throwing things and causing problems as usual.

She has grown so much this year.  She is so far away from my little baby face I have known for the past 5 years.

She has grown so much this year. She is so far away from my little baby face I have known for the past 5 years.

I caught her splash and sprinkles!

I caught her splash and sprinkles!

LP finally looked up from her fishing expedition.  PP is still behind me digging in the mud trying to pull out boulders.

LP finally looked up from her fishing expedition. PP is still behind me digging in the mud trying to pull out boulders.

LP recruiting little sis to help with her exploits.

LP recruiting little sis to help with her exploits.

The kept running up this rock.  I checked to make sure it was moss free but it still made me nervous watching them play around.

The kept running up this rock. I checked to make sure it was moss free but it still made me nervous watching them play around.

The view down the stream, it was so nice to take a break from all of my deadlines and work to spend sometime with the girls.

The view down the stream, it was so nice to take a break from all of my deadlines and work to spend sometime with the girls.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Motherhood, Photography, Relationships, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KHP – A Sanity Break for All

  1. wwwmama says:

    What a gorgeous spot for your work breaks! I can’t wait to celebrate summer in these little (big!) ways

Leave a Reply

