KHP – Princesses, Castles and 21 Day Challenge!

LP has a birthday coming up and as I have mentioned previously, I want to create a really special poster for her room. I have been working on sketches and illustrations to figure out the cast of characters I will include. This week I started on a series of quick sketches to design the castle. I am still researching and sketching but I have a favorite castle. It is nestled up in the mountains with the forest fairies but the castle sits directly on the water. Perhaps we will get to see a mermaid, sea monster or giant dragonfly.  It will be an optimum location for many adventures and fun.

As I sketched earlier in the week, I began thinking of the importance for any artist to draw and draw frequently. So I did a little surfing on the internet to find inspiration for myself and my students. I hoped on my Lynda.com subscription and found an interview with Von Glitschka, one of my favorite illustrators and up and coming art educators. I found snippet of interview on YouTube.


He was discussing the importance of drawing for any commercial artist or fine artist. With the advent of many new digital tools and software applications, analog drawing has fallen of the curriculum in many commercial art or technical art programs. The skill left only for the fine artists to use and develop.   Von Glitschka (and my)  point is not to try and turn everyone into an illustrator but to allow artist of all careers to have a vehicle to visually describe their ideas quickly and easily. Art, whether it be in the design spectrum or fine art spectrum is visual communication and visual problem solving.  Minor White described photography as “Visual Poetry” and I often though of many of my colleagues as philosophers.  This aspect of art is often overlooked by those outside of the field.  Even in the design world the greatest designer are not the greatest technicians but they are the greatest thinkers with a vast knowledge of various subjects. To be able to draw is to be able to take your ideas and workout the visual answer.

During the video, Glitschka, challenged  his listener to stop whining and draw for 21 days. A 21 day challenge for artist, I am in!  At the end of the 21 days he did not expect people to turn into illustrators but he did expect the artist to develop a habit of drawing everyday. You hear about 21 day challenges for healthy eating or exercise but art takes the same dedication and daily requirements as an healthy lifestyle.  For artist drawing everyday is essential and a very healthy habit. So here are a few sketches to start off my 21 day challenge. I am hoping by the end of my 21 days I will have created a better daily drawing schedule and perhaps a fabulous illustration for my little princess.

This has to be on the right track.

This has to be on the right track.

Getting closer!

Getting closer!

UGh! This is the first sketch of the group and it is just a mess.

UGh! This is the first sketch of the group and it is just a mess.

The second castle sketch.  I like the layout but I think we can find a more unique castle for our fairies.

The second castle sketch. I like the layout but I think we can find a more unique castle for our fairies.

This little princess is going to have  a great birthday. We need to organize!!

This little princess is going to have a great birthday. We need to organize!!

LP the princess sitting in on a photo shoot so I can test the light.

LP the princess sitting in on a photo shoot so I can test the light.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Illustration, Kristen P., Motherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

