Kristen R: The Vacation Run

We are heading back from a relaxing few days at the beach. We stayed in a big beach house with my husband’s siblings and their families. Seeing all the cousins play and enjoy themselves was nice, but the grown up downtime at night and during nap time for the little kids was just what I needed.

I ran each morning while we were here. I kept to shorter runs to continue nursing my back, but it felt good to get out there every day. It gave me a few moments to myself and was an excuse to run to the beach early each morning to check out the surf and post-sunrise waves.

Before this year, I don’t think I ever exercised on vacation before. Vacation was for indulgence and down time, not squeezing in runs — every day, at that. I liked it — and am going to continue this trend for future vacations.

I’ll post my running log next time. Until then, what about you? Do you make sure to get your runs in on vacation or is it your time to take a break?

Gotta run,
Kristen R.

20130630-102255.jpg

KHP Art Below

A really special photo project this weekend.  Miss H came 6 weeks early and returned home for the hospital.  I headed down when she finally made it home to take some pictures.  Her mother is amazingly talented and had more homemade props than any photographer could dream. I cannot wait to release the rest of the images.

A really special photo project this weekend. Miss H came 6 weeks early and returned home for the hospital. I headed down when she finally made it home to take some pictures. Her mother is amazingly talented and had more homemade props than any photographer could dream. I cannot wait to release the rest of the images.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kristen R: The Vacation Run

  1. khpixler says:

    So glad you are having a good time. I think my most restorative moments over my vacation were my run with J and my solo photo hike down to the marsh.

Leave a Reply

