Kristen R: An open letter to my blogging partners

Ladies, I’m about to get real, so please sit down, maybe with a glass of wine (oh, it’s fine if it’s 10 a.m., I mean, you’re on summer break, right?); take a deep, relaxing breath; roll that stress out of your shoulders; move your head from side to side; and listen to what I have to say.

First, let me start by saying how amazed I am that the three of us are halfway through this crazy 365 project. It’s been an interesting journey, but the best part has been reconnecting with you in a way that I haven’t been able to in a very long time. Sharing stories of love, family, motherhood and daily challenges has really helped balance me this year. Thank you for doing this with me. I love you both.

But then there was June. I think I owe you an apology for June. Last month was my low point. Between being sick, persistent low back pain, and that horrible half marathon, I wasn’t able to hold myself to any of the personal goals I set for the month. Yes, it’s what I had to do to nurse my body back from whatever was going on with it, but I didn’t like it. June felt like a big step back for me.

Today, however, was the first day in several weeks when my back didn’t hurt with every little movement. Today, I felt more like myself than I have in weeks. I ran and it felt good. I got up and down from my desk at work and I didn’t grimace. I finally remembered what it’s like to feel spritely and healthy, again. It was a good day.

But, if I’m keeping it real, I think June was a low point for all of us. There were fights mentioned, lingering illnesses and overly demanding schedules. I didn’t engage with you in your posts like I usually do. It felt bleak. I know I am probably projecting, but that’s the gist: When I reflect back on June, it reads a bit on the depressing side.

Here’s the thing, though: June is over. We made it through and now it’s July. And it feels quite sudden to me. It’s summertime. There are fireflies and fireworks. It’s hot and sticky. School’s out. Sandals are back in the mix. Summer storms abound and I find myself digging out T-shirts I had forgotten about.

Ladies, the livin’ is easy, so let’s go with it.

Here’s what I propose:

Body — Two July workouts that seem doable to me:

Arm challenge Drop it like a squat

An assignment for your next post: Let’s have some fun with this old-school questionnaire (that used to circulate via email) to share some silliness. And, dear readers, I would love to have you post your answers, too. I’ll start:

  1. Where were you born? Jackson, MS
  2. Can you drive a stick shift? Yes
  3. When did you last cry? The week before last when I was sick with strep and severe back pain. I actually cried twice in one day — and cannot tell you when I cried before that. My tears don’t flow too often, so it’s safe to say it was a bad day.
  4. Do you still have your tonsils? Yes
  5. Riskiest thing you’ve ever done? When I used to rock climb, I taught a boy how to belay me when I had no voice. It worked out, though, since we’re married now.
  6. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? Nope.
  7. Do you think you are strong? Yes, I know I am strong.
  8. Favorite ice cream? Strawberry, especially when my husband makes his homemade strawberry.
  9. What is the first thing you notice about a person? Eyes / eyebrows
  10. Red or pink? Red
  11. What is your least favorite thing about yourself? I’m very critical of myself which makes me self-conscious
  12. What was the last thing you ate? Mixed nuts
  13. What is your favorite smell? Anything baking with cinnamon
  14. What’s your favorite drink? Pineapple juice with rum (it’s summer!)
  15. Scary movie or happy ending? neither, I’ll take suspense
  16. Favorite season? Fall
  17. What book are you reading? The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and Wild
  18. What was the last thing you watched on TV? Grey’s Anatomy
  19. What’s your favorite sound? My girls giggling
  20. Rolling Stones or Beatles? Both — thank you, Pandora.
  21. What’s the furthest distance you’ve been from home? Hawaii. I’d like to go back now, please!
  22. Do you have a special talent? Not really. I am able to put people at ease fairly easily which makes them open up. I guess that means I’m trustworthy — and I am.
  23. Biggest regret in life? I regret nothing. Everything happens for a reason.
  24. For my blogging partners: Have you used a “get out of making-it-daily jail” pass yet? No

So what do you say, my friends, are you with me?

Running log below.

Gotta run — no more woggling!
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

Giant sketch #1.  I have a huge canvas waiting for my final design.  I think I am going to do a digital illustration and a painting on canvas.  I am can't wait to start the canvas painting.  I think tonight:))

Giant sketch #1. I have a huge canvas waiting for my final design. I think I am going to do a digital illustration and a painting on canvas. I am can’t wait to start the canvas painting. I think tonight:))

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kristen R: An open letter to my blogging partners

  1. wwwmama says:

    Thanks for the workouts! I”m gonna give them the old Carrollton college try! July is here…we must embrace it.

  2. khpixler says:

    June was super busy that is for sure and my workouts have been strained but a lot of good happened in June. It was one of those months that really embodied the age old saying of “There is just not enough hours in the day”. I had a great month in many ways. I am ready to tackle July and I have lots of projects planned. I start working with the trainer this month so I will ask her about the workouts. My hammy still bothers me so the squat challenge I may not do but the arm one I am on it.

  3. Pingback: Summer Fever | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

