KHP – Happy Fourth of July!!!

We celebrated the 4th of July with the kiddos today. It was such a wonderful day. We had a lazy early morning watching movies while I worked on my illustration on the computer. When the girls were finished with their movie, I set up paints. They worked on their fairy paintings while I sketched out the castle on the 3′ by 4′ canvas.
We all got dressed and ready for the day. Matt and I headed out to a workout at the Healthy Living Workshop with Leigh Cordell. I have not started my individual workouts with her and this was my first workout at her gym. It was so hard but so fun, I can’t wait to go again. I will be sore from my head to toe tomorrow but in a good way. It was an ego boost for me, as I did very well for a first timer in extreme heat. We did tuck jumps, bear crawls, burpees, squats, rows, pushups, lunges, sprints, more burpees and more. There was little rest for over an hour of work. What I loved was I would go from the TRX Rows with my arms blown and pumped. I would head over to the mat to move into pushups. I was dreading the pushups and unsure if I would be able to do the 30 reps assigned. Once I looked down at the mat and pushed away the first time I knew that I could do it. It was a different muscle group and I knew I could access the strength. Each transition pushed you to the point of self-doubt but we were all able to tackle it. Matt and I both left feeling buzzed and tired from the workout.

When we pulled up at home the girls and grandma were outside playing in the sprinkler and pool with the whole neighborhood. I watched over the chaos all afternoon wishing I had some sort of sedative. With the entire neighborhood out with water guns, sprinklers, water balloons, scooters and bikes, I had to access all my teacher skills to keep everyone safe and sound. As the only parent outside for most of the day, it was touch and go at times but there were no casualties today. After Matt the grill master, made a delicious dinner we headed to the field up the road from our house to watch the fireworks. Everyone had a wonderful day. Happy Fourth!

Local fireworks in action.

Local fireworks in action.

I was juggling my long lens in one hand and my 5 year old in the other.  She has amazing hearing and the sound was bothering her.  She enjoyed the show but next year we may get her some ear plugs:)

I was juggling my long lens in one hand and my 5 year old in the other. She has amazing hearing and the sound was bothering her. She enjoyed the show but next year we may get her some ear plugs:)

A lot of fun and we are all tuckered out from a very long wonderful day.

A lot of fun and we are all tuckered out from a very long wonderful day.

  1. Where were you born? Portsmouth, VA, in the backseat of wooden paneled station wagon.
  2. Can you drive a stick shift? Yep and I prefer it.
  3. When did you last cry? Can’t remember but yesterday I wanted to like 5 times.
  4. Do you still have your tonsils? Still have them.
  5. Riskiest thing you’ve ever done? I don’t do risky things unless they are mistakes.  Like the time I was practicing taking whippers in the climbing gym with Michelle.  I did not warn her and took a huge fall not realizing I had only clipped a couple draws.  I did this to her more than once, she is a very good climber and belayer thank goodness.
  6. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? I try not to have laces but I do not when they find their way on my footwear.  I hear my dad telling me I am going to ruin my shoes when I rip them off.
  7. Do you think you are strong? Born and bred that way.
  8. Favorite ice cream? Cinnamon Chip from Bev’s in Richmond or Salted Chocolate Chip from Trickling Springs here in PA (5 minutes from my house).  I may have to go with the Trickling Springs as it is made from grass fed organic cream.  It is crazy delicious.
  9. What is the first thing you notice about a person? I think I notice gestures and reactions more than I notice features.  I do notice people’s hands.  To me a person’s hands tells more about them than anythings else.  Are their hands soft, well manicured, are their nails painted or long, flashy paint job or subtle, rings no rings, types of rings, bracelets too, callused, rough, grit in their nails ( like mine:), are the tendons, bones and veins obvious or are they fleshy and round.  I also think they are a more accurate indicator of a person’s age.
  10. Red or pink? Red but pink makes me laugh on athletic gear so I have some pink workout clothes.
  11. What is your least favorite thing about yourself? Self-doubt creeps in too much.
  12. What was the last thing you ate? A lettuce wrap burger.
  13. What is your favorite smell? Sea air, it usually means my sinuses are fabulous and all of my scraps are healed.  It means little girls playing in the waves, running on the beach, discovering sea life and making fabulous sandcastles.
  14. What’s your favorite drink? Earl Grey Green and Black tea mix
  15. Scary movie or happy ending? Happy ending.  I do not do scary.
  16. Favorite season? Fall I think but summer is awesome here in PA and out in AZ.
  17. What book are you reading? A few technical books but for fun I am still reading the Book 5 in the Game of Thrones Series. It has been a slow process with many interruptions.
  18. What was the last thing you watched on TV? Megamind but the last thing I watched that I wanted to watch was an old episode of Downtown Abbey. 
  19. What’s your favorite sound? My family playing music together.
  20. Rolling Stones or Beatles? Rolling Stones but they both are fabulous.
  21. What’s the furthest distance you’ve been from home?Austria or Belgium but as an adult not far. I don’t travel much these days.
  22. Do you have a special talent? I can carry a ridiculous amount of weight spread in lots of packages. ( Figuratively and Literally)
  23. Biggest regret in life? Doubting myself
  24. For my blogging partners: Have you used a “get out of making-it-daily jail” pass yet?Nope, I have missed about 6 workouts but never my art.

I am ready to tackle July and the rest of the year with you gals. We have come so far since the beginning of the year. We have created such wonderful habits and more importantly we have created a healthy support for one another. I love being connected and I can’t wait to get together in the fall.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Motherhood, Photography, Printmaking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Happy Fourth of July!!!

  1. Emily says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful 4th! Mine was also amazing and spent with family!

Leave a Reply

