KHP: Preparation for Art Camp

Tomorrow morning I will walk into the council and rush about setting up trays of shaving cream, watercolors, mixing medium, placing paper, pencils, and  brushes out on the table.  I will be waiting for 10 little girls to come streaming into the door ready for a week of Fairy and Giants art camp fun. Only girls signed up for this art camp as you can imagine with a theme involving fairies and giants but have no fear later this summer I am teaching Creatures and Monsters camp.  I am sure the Creatures and Monsters camp will attract a few male students plus they can start working on their Halloween costumes for fall!

I love teaching these summer camps at the council.  The kids are wonderful and excited to be there. I love coming up with curriculum that covers important art concepts.  I figure out fun ways to share the academic aspects while developing age appropriate projects.  I am really using the theme of fairies and giants to introduce scale and proportion.

I have really been working on this in tandem with LP’s birthday illustration and painting. Everything I have been doing on her illustration and the painting was also preparation and demo items for the camp.  It has been fabulous and a very sneaky way to make her birthday present right out in the open.  She has been watching my progress thinking it was only for the examples for art camp.  She has come up with a fabulous story for the painting, she has told me the items and characters that must be in the painting.  I am to place the giant dangling on a vine above the castle while Jack stands below watching.  Rapunzel is up in the tallest tower with fairies flittering about in the sky.  She has been frustrated with my illustrations as I have only drawn a few fairies and I have neglected to include any proper princess.  I have much still to do.

This week the students are going to decorate and marbleize paper which they will use in their pop-up books.  The books will start with a brain storming process, a few thumbnails and then a storyboard.  Then we will go into production mode assembling the collages and illustrations into a pretty little book.  I will sketch out a scene pulled from each of their stories on a huge canvas.  Each student will have a turn painting in on the canvas while they paint fairies on tiny canvases to take home.  We will make wands and sculpt with clay. I can’t wait to see what my class thinks of the projects! 

The clay sculpture example.

The clay sculpture example.

Fun with gel medium and photo paper to create cool textures for the book.

Fun with gel medium and photo paper to create cool textures for the book.

One pop-up page in the example book I created.

One pop-up page in the example book I created.

I printed out my illustrations then cut out individual pieces of the page. I placed the elements on the page so they would pop out at different depths.  Pretty neat.

I printed out my illustrations then cut out individual pieces of the page. I placed the elements on the page so they would pop out at different depths. Pretty neat.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP: Preparation for Art Camp

  1. wwwmama says:

    How fun! I bet you are a super fun and wonderful teacher!

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Those girls are in good hands. Can’t wait to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

