Claire: Birthday Party

My baby girl is growing up. We celebrated her birthday at the house this weekend, our first chance to have a backyard family party in a few years. Newman reminded me today that in addition to it being Free ‘s birthday, we have been living together for exactly one year. There’s a lot to celebrate.
We are currently at Newman’s lake house; in the aftermath of the party, we came here with some of her cousins to spend the day swimming, kayaking, and eating leftovers from our cookout celebration. It’s been a great couple of days, and I’m feeling very grateful and at peace.
One great thing about the lake house is there is no internet connection, so I cannot write anything of length tonight. I promise I will work on some real substantive writing this summer, though. Blogmates, any ideas or questions or prompts you’d like me to tackle, writing wise? I’m ready for a challenge…
Here are some party pics. Happy birthday, my shining girl!

20130716-084640.jpg

20130716-084832.jpg

Guests watch the ballgame from our swing, which was a Brimfield purchase last year

20130716-084721.jpg

We got the idea for this watermelon hedgehog on Pinterest

20130716-084732.jpg

Goody bags filled with marbles, candy, and other treats

20130716-084750.jpg

Free’s cousin gets in on the slip ‘n slide action

20130716-084804.jpg

Guests decorated t-shirts to take home

20130716-084919.jpg

Free tests the water at the lake

KHP Art Below

KHP - Just got a chance to post my work from last night.  It was a busy day of festivities.

KHP – Just got a chance to post my work from last night. It was a busy day of festivities.

This entry was posted in Claire, Motherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Claire: Birthday Party

  1. Kristen R. says:

    Hmm. Give me an hour or so to noodle over writing prompts. I need to think… Do you want personal, topical, or observational? Or all of the above?

  2. wwwmama says:

    I’m terrible. I look at prompts online a lot and follow blogs with prompts and still feel uninspired. Plus this iPad hing is still bumming me out. An the lakehouse has spotty cell service so I had so much trouble even getting thi brief post published. Frustrating. I feel like I always write about the same stuff. Can you give me some questions to conisider and reflect on, maybe? Sorry to ask for help, but you know me well!

  3. wwwmama says:

    All those typos! Grrrr! I think I’m more of a personal/observational girl than topical.

    • Kristen R. says:

      Agreed. Questions coming later tonight. I’ll post them on this thread so KHP can add to the list and vice versa if she posts some good stuff.

    • Kristen R. says:

      Here goes:
      – write about where you might have gone wrong at some point in your life, however big or small.
      – write about your very best day: before you had a child; then after becoming a mom.
      – pick up the book closest to you. Turn to page 39, then use the sentence at the top of the page as a writing prompt.
      – write about one thing you are most hypocritical about.
      – cast you and your blog mates in a movie. Who plays us and why?
      – write about your most treasured possession.
      – write about sacrifices you’ve made and promises you didn’t keep.
      – write about a time you wanted to buy something, but didn’t have the money (wanted to buy, didn’t need to buy).
      – write about one memory that stands out to you the most from our western road trip that followed grad school, and/or do the same from NOLA.

      I also found this on Pinterest (and stole a few for above). A lot them are for fiction, but some not. I liked it: http://pinterest.com/amandaonwriting/writing-prompts/

  4. khpixler says:

    I would love to hear more about different times from your life. More about Ireland, NOLA or about when Free was a baby. I also loved your poems and would really like to read more of them!! Is Free’s B-day today???

Leave a Reply

