Kristen R: Back in the (Running) Saddle

It’s Sunday night and another weekend is coming to a close. Everything about this weekend felt like summertime to me: The carefree days; light eats; short-lived thunderstorms; mosquitos; sticky, sweaty runs; bike rides and sprinklers.

What’s most notable about this weekend, for me, is the fact that I finally felt like I was back to 100% on the running front. It’s seriously taken me since early June to feel like this again, so the last two runs have been particularly positive. I better break out the training plan while I’m feeling some momentum.

Saturday, I ran a fast four miles and was finished before I realized it (and probably should have kept going). Today, I went out mid-morning for a short, hot, sticky run to a nearby middle school. I had a head start to meet my family at the school track (they were driving). Our mission: To get my 7-year-old up and moving on her bike sans training wheels. It’s taken her a while to get there, for too many reasons, I suppose, but today was the day.

Just as I got there, she went flying solo down the track on her bike, as if she had been doing it for years, er well, months. OK – weeks. But still, it was awesome. Her pride was contagious and if I could bottle up the confidence she got from the many loops she took around the track on her bike, I would make a killing.

Top: Me walking up to my 3-year-old post run and waiting for the Bean to make her first loop around the track. Left: The Bean after her first loop. She was so proud! Right: Very heated moment on the track. Who needs the Tour de France when you've got this kind of competition in your backyard?

Top: Me walking up to my 3-year-old post run and waiting for the Bean to make her first loop around the track. Left: The Bean after her first loop without training wheels. She was so proud! Right: Very heated moment on the track: little sis vs big sis. Who needs the Tour de France when you’ve got this kind of competition in your backyard?

Just like in the Tour de France, sometimes your tires give out here in the 'burbs and quick change is all it takes to get back out there and protect your title.

Just like in the Tour de France, sometimes you get a flat. In our case, we shed the training wheels and they weren’t needed again.

Don't forget to hydrate!

Don’t forget to hydrate!

The rest of the day was pretty easy. The girls played in the sprinkler, ate popsicles and got to watch a movie. I hit the grocery store for the week and was able to plan out some easy, light meals.

I’m planning to share my meals for the next few weeks. It’s something I tried to do with fellow daily runner and British blogger Brendon Birch, but life and such got in our way. This will be attempt No. 2, and it should be interesting, since he’s doing a week (well, I think a week?) of juicing.

It’s not so much an attempt to lose weight as it is an attempt to cut out the bad stuff. And I don’t include wine in that category!

Here’s a peek. I tried to capture a few things I ate today.

Breakfast: A berry delish protein smoothie; nuts and Lara bars as a snack (I'm a HUGE lover of Lara bars. Good stuff). I also snacked on fruit througout the day.
Breakfast: A berry delish protein smoothie; nuts and a Lara bar as my snacks (I’m a HUGE lover of Lara bars. Good stuff!). I also snacked on fruit throughout the day, so I really didn’t have “lunch,” but just a few small meals until dinner.
We opted not to cook for dinner. I had this yummy roasted chicken sandwich on mulit-grain break with avocado, lettuce tomato and mustard. And, it's summer! I had a little Rose. It was crisp and light and topped off a great weekend.

We opted not to cook for dinner. I had this yummy roasted chicken sandwich on multi-grain bread with avocado, lettuce, tomato and mustard. And, it’s summer! I had a little Rose. It was crisp and light and topped off a great weekend.

That’s all I have for you today. I’m looking forward to three more days of good runs before the next time I post. I’ll be logging meals and snacks between now and then, and maybe I’ll put together a training plan, too. (My next races are in the fall — Sept. is my overnight 200-mile relay; Nov. is the local half marathon.)

How are the July fitness challenges treating you – squats and arms? I’m hanging in there so far.

Running log below.

Gotta run,
Kristen R.

Next time you hear from me, I'll have passed the 500-mile mark!

Next time you hear from me, I’ll have passed the 500-mile mark — finally!

KHP Art Below

KHP - I did a bunch of these sketches last night.  LP wants a giant hanging from the beanstalk.  I used some images of climbers for reference.  I though what better to look at for perspective and figure! I am painting this in right now!!

KHP – I did a bunch of these sketches last night. LP wants a giant hanging from the beanstalk. I used some images of climbers for reference. I though what better to look at for perspective and figure! I am painting this in right now!!

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: Back in the (Running) Saddle

  1. lehorse says:

    So glad to read that you are back feeling it great great news :-D. The juice is for 5 days starting today so will put my food diary up tomorrow if that’s ok, welcome back 🙂

  2. khpixler says:

    I am so proud of you and the bean!!! I am doing a purification this month. I am pumped up and feel like I am back too.

  3. Pingback: A man can’t live on Juice alone | 365 days 3000 km

Leave a Reply

